Get fresh updates from Hortonworks by email

Once a month, receive latest insights, trends, analytics information and knowledge of Big Data.

cta

Démarrer

cloud

Prêt à débuter ?

Télécharger Sandbox

Que pouvons-nous faire pour vous ?

fermerBouton Fermer
cta

Fondateurs

Alan Gates

Alan est l’un des fondateurs de Hortonworks et a fait partie de la première équipe d'ingénieurs qui a transformé Pig, d'un projet de recherche au sein de Yahoo! Labs en projet Apache open source, couronné de succès. Alan fait partie du comité de gestion de projet (PMC) sur Apache Hive, Pig et de nombreux autres projets Apache. Au sein du PMC de l’incubateur Apache, Alan a eu l’occasion de superviser de nombreuses communautés Apache. Alan est titulaire d'une licence en mathématiques obtenue à l'université Oregon State, et d'une maîtrise en théologie obtenue au séminaire Fuller Theological Seminary. Il est également l'auteur de Programming Pig, un livre publié par O' Reilly Press. Suivez Alan sur Twitter : @alanfgates.

Arun C. Murthy

As Chief Product Officer, Arun leads Engineering and R&D efforts across Hortonworks’ entire portfolio. Arun is one of the founders of Hortonworks and has spent well over a decade in the open source Big Data industry. He has worked on Apache Hadoop since its inception in 2006 and remains an Apache Hadoop Project Management Committee (PMC) member. Prior to co-founding Hortonworks, Arun was one of the original members of the Hadoop team at Yahoo where he was responsible for all Hadoop/MapReduce code and configuration deployed across the 42,000+ servers and for running Hadoop as a service for the company. Follow Arun on Twitter: @acmurthy.

Devaraj Das

Devaraj est un contributeur pour Apache Hadoop et fait également partie du comité de gestion de projet (PMC). Il contribue aussi au projet Apache HCatalog. Avant de co-fonder Hortonworks, Devaraj a joué un rôle majeur dans le succès d'Apache Hadoop chez Yahoo!. En effet, il a contribué à la conception, la mise en place, la direction et la gestion de vastes et complexes projets Apache Hadoop ou en lien avec Hadoop, sur les clusters de production de Yahoo! (notamment MapReduce, Hadoop Security et HCatalog). Avant cela, Devaraj a également travaillé comme ingénieur chez HP à Bangalore. Il est titulaire d'une maîtrise de l'Indian Institute of Science de Bangalore en Inde, et d'une licence du Birla Institute of Technology and Science à Pilani, aussi en Inde. Suivez Devaraj sur Twitter :  @ddraj.

Eric Baldeschwieler

Avant de co-fonder Hortonworks, Eric était vice-président de l'ingénierie logicielle Hadoop pour Yahoo!, où il a dirigé l'évolution d'Apache Hadoop, d'un prototype à 20 nœuds, à un service comptant 42 000 nœuds derrière tous les clics chez Yahoo!. Eric a également été directeur technologique pour Inktomi, le moteur de services Web, racheté par Yahoo! en 2003. Avant son expérience chez Inktomi, Eric concevait des logiciels pour des jeux vidéo, des systèmes de post-production vidéo et de représentation 3D. Eric est titulaire d'une maîtrise en sciences de l'informatique obtenue à l'université de Californie à Berkeley, et d'une licence en mathématiques et sciences de l'informatique obtenue à l'université Carnegie Mellon. Suivez Eric sur Twitter :  @jeric14.

Mahadev Konar

Mahadev est un contributeur majeur et est membre du comité de gestion de projet (PMC) d'Apache Hadoop et ZooKeeper. Avant de co-fonder Hortonworks, Mahadev a travaillé sur les technologies Hadoop chez Yahoo! pendant plus de cinq ans. Il est titulaire d'une maîtrise et d'une licence en sciences de l'informatique, respectivement obtenues à l'université de SUNY Stony Brook et à l'IIT de Bombay (Inde). Suivez Mahadev sur Twitter :  @mahadevkonar.

Owen O’Malley

Owen O'Malley concevait déjà des correctifs pour Hadoop avant même que cela ne devienne un projet Apache à part entière. Il a été le premier contributeur à rejoindre le projet et reste l'un des plus actifs sur Apache Hadoop. Owen est également le fondateur du comité de gestion de projet d'Apache Hadoop (PMC). Avant de co-fonder Hortonworks, Owen a travaillé sur le projet WebMap de Yahoo! Search, qui a permis d'élaborer une carte du Web connu et a appliqué de nombreux paramètres heuristiques à la carte complète. Une fois migré sur Apache Hadoop, ce projet est devenu la plus vaste application Hadoop connue. Owen est titulaire d'un doctorat d'ingénieur logiciel obtenu à l'Université de Californie à Irvine. Suivez Owen sur Twitter :  @owen_omalley.

Sanjay Radia

Sanjay est un contributeur pour Apache Hadoop et est membre du comité de gestion de projet (PMC). Avant de co-fonder Hortonworks, Sanjay était l'architecte du projet Hadoop HDFS chez Yahoo!. Sanjay a aussi occupé des postes d'ingénieur à responsabilité chez Sun Microsystems et INRIA, où il concevait des logiciels pour des systèmes distribués et des infrastructures informatiques pour des services publics/réseaux. Sanjay détient un doctorat d'ingénieur logiciel obtenu à l'université de Waterloo au Canada. Suivez Sanjay sur Twitter :  @srr.

Suresh Srinivas

Suresh est un contributeur pour Apache Hadoop et est membre du comité de gestion de projet (PMC). Suresh est un contributeur actif pour le projet Apache HDFS. Avant de co-fonder Hortonworks, il était architecte logiciel chez Yahoo! et travaillait sur le projet Apache Hadoop HDFS. Suresh a également occupé plusieurs postes techniques supérieurs chez Sylantro Systems, où il a développé une infrastructure évolutive pour des services de communication hébergés. Il est titulaire d'une licence en électronique et communication obtenue au National Institute of Technology de Karnataka en Inde. Suivez Suresh sur Twitter :  @suresh_m_s.

Founders

founders

Alan Gates
Alan is an original member of the engineering team that took Pig from a Yahoo! Labs research project to a successful Apache open source project. Alan also designed HCatalog and guided its adoption as an Apache Incubator project. Alan has a BS in Mathematics from Oregon State University and a MA in Theology from Fuller Theological Seminary. He is also the author of Programming Pig, a book from O’Reilly Press. Follow Alan on Twitter: @alanfgates.

Arun C. Murthy
Arun is a Apache Hadoop PMC member and has been a full time contributor to the project since the inception in 2006. He is also the lead of the MapReduce project and has focused on building NextGen MapReduce (YARN). Prior to co-founding Hortonworks, Arun was responsible for all MapReduce code and configuration deployed across the 42,000+ servers at Yahoo!. In essence, he was responsible for running Apache Hadoop’s MapReduce as a service for Yahoo!. Also, he jointly holds the current world sorting record using Apache Hadoop. Follow Arun on Twitter: @acmurthy.

Devaraj Das
Devaraj is an Apache Hadoop committer and member of the Apache Hadoop PMC as well as a committer on the Apache HCatalog project. Prior to co-founding Hortonworks, Devaraj was critical in making Apache Hadoop a success at Yahoo! by designing, implementing, leading and managing large and complex core Apache Hadoop and Hadoop-related projects on Yahoo!’s production clusters (including MapReduce, Hadoop Security and HCatalog). Devaraj also worked as an engineer at HP in Bangalore earlier in his career. He has a Master’s degree from the Indian Institute of Science in Bangalore, India, and a B.E. degree from Birla Institute of Technology and Science in Pilani, India. Follow Devaraj on Twitter: @ddraj.

Eric Baldeschwieler
Prior to co-founding Hortonworks, Eric served as VP Hadoop Software Engineering for Yahoo!, where he led the evolution of Apache Hadoop from a 20 node prototype to a 42,000 node service that is behind every click at Yahoo!. Eric also served as a technology leader for Inktomi’s web service engine, which Yahoo! acquired in 2003. Prior to Inktomi, Eric developed software for video games, video post production systems and 3D modeling systems. Eric has a Master’s degree in Computer Science from the University of California, Berkeley and a Bachelor’s degree in Mathematics and Computer Science from Carnegie Mellon University. Follow Eric on Twitter: @jeric14.

Mahadev Konar
Mahadev is a core contributor and PMC member of Apache Hadoop and ZooKeeper. Prior to co-founding Hortonworks, Mahadev spent more than five years at Yahoo! working on Hadoop technologies. He holds a Master’s and Bachelor’s degree in Computer Science from SUNY Stony Brook and IIT Bombay (India) respectively. Follow Mahadev on Twitter: @mahadevkonar.

Owen O’Malley
Owen has been contributing patches to Hadoop since before it became an independent Apache project. He was the first committer added and still remains one of the most active contributors to Apache Hadoop. He was also the founding chair of the Apache Hadoop Project Management Committee. Prior to co-founding Hortonworks, Owen worked on Yahoo! Search’s WebMap project, which built a graph of the known web and applied many heuristics to the entire graph. Once ported to Apache Hadoop, it became the single largest known Hadoop application. He has a PhD in Software Engineering from the University of California, Irvine. Follow Owen on Twitter: @owen_omalley.

Sanjay Radia
Sanjay is an Apache Hadoop committer and member of the Apache Hadoop PMC. Prior to co-founding Hortonworks, Sanjay was the architect of the Hadoop HDFS project at Yahoo!. He has also held senior engineering positions at Sun Microsystems and INRIA, where he developed software for distributed systems and grid/utility computing infrastructures. Sanjay has a PhD in Computer Science from the University of Waterloo in Canada. Follow Sanjay on Twitter: @srr.

Suresh Srinivas
Suresh is an Apache Hadoop committer and member of the Apache Hadoop PMC. Suresh is an active contributor to the Apache HDFS project. Prior to co-founding Hortonworks, he served as a software architect at Yahoo! working on Apache Hadoop HDFS. Suresh also worked for Sylantro Systems in various technical leadership roles, developing scalable infrastructure for hosted communications services. He has a Bachelor’s degree in Electronics and Communication from the National Institute of Technology, Karnataka (India). Follow Suresh on Twitter: @suresh_m_s.

Contact Us
Hortonworks provides enterprise-grade support, services and training. Discuss how to leverage Hadoop in your business with our sales team.
Get started with Sandbox
Hortonworks Sandbox is a self-contained virtual machine with Apache Hadoop pre-configured alongside a set of hands-on, step-by-step Hadoop tutorials.
Modern Data Architecture
Tackle the challenges of big data. Hadoop integrates with existing EDW, RDBMS and MPP systems to deliver lower cost, higher capacity infrastructure.