Home Forums Ambari HDP setup but trying to understand how to access it

This topic contains 5 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Sasha J 1 year, 9 months ago.

• Creator
    Topic

suaroman
    Participant

I used Ambari to created a simple 3 node HDP cluster and everything seems to work fine. Did a simple hdfs and mapred test using the respective accounts. I’m new to Hadoop and was wondering how to go about setting up a user account? (perhaps called HadoopTest1) with the appropriate rights to run jobs and work with hdfs . I’ve been spoiled by the HDP Sandbox where I had a graphical interface to upload files and work with the various components (grunt, hcatalog, etc… ) . I didn’t have to log in or anything. I think a user account was created called sandbox. I’m currently trying to understand how I can interface with my cluster. In standalone configurations, I simply open a terminal and start using hadoop utility (no login necessary) to upload files to hdfs , call mr jobs, etc..

Just checking to see if someone could point to me to some links that can help me start using my HDP cluster once its setup (e.g creating necessary accounts, )

Thanks !

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

• Author
    Replies

Sasha J

You can take a look on HUE project, this is front-end which uses in SandBox.
    Google for it, it is open source project and should be available from the GitHub.

Thank you!
    Sasha

Collapse

suaroman
    Participant

I started going through the doc mentioned below, but figured Ambari might be able to handle all of this for me . I went back to Ambari machine and added a new host (specifying only Client and tools need)
    That did the trick. Thanks!