Home Forums Hortonworks Sandbox How to get started coding?

Tagged: , ,

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Clement Fleury 5 months, 2 weeks ago.

• Creator
    Topic

Clement Fleury
    Participant

Hi there!
    First of all, I must warn you : I am VERY new to Hadoop.

I have installed the Hortonworks sandbox and did the first 6 tutorials (I am a Linux user, so no Excel for me…), so I think I understand quite well now Pig, Hive and HCatalog. I also have read a lot about HDFS, MapReduce and I really think I get all the concepts in Hadoop.

I also installed successfully HDP2 with Ambari on a remote virtual machine (Proxmox).

BUT : what now?

I want to develop my own Java application that uses HDP2 cluster.

I’m developing on my workstation (Eclipse on Ubuntu).

How to get started ?
    What plugins / libraries do I have ton install ?
    How do I have to structure my code ?
    How do I get my local program to be executed on my HDP2 ?
    … ?

I am so new to this that I don’t even know if I’m asking the right questions at the right people.
    Any tip, help, hint, step-by-step tutorial, link, … will be apreciated.

Cheers!

Viewing 2 replies - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

• Author
    Replies

Clement Fleury
    Participant

Hi!

Thanks @Sanjeev , very useful information indeed.

If I may make a suggestion to the HortonWorks (and Hadoop as a general) community, as a real newbie : the HDP Sandbox tutorials are a really GREAT way to understand the main concepts of Hadoop (HDFS and MapReduce), as well as other tools (HCatalog, Hive, Pig, …).
    BUT, I think there is a real huge gap between these tutorials and the moment when you are actually developing actual code for Hadoop.