Home Forums Hortonworks Sandbox Issues installing Sandbox on VMWare player

This topic contains 4 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Dave 3 months, 2 weeks ago.

• Creator
    Topic

Matthew Potter
    Participant

Hi,

I’m very new to vmware, hadoop and all this stuff coming from more of a .NET background, but wanted to evaluate the technology and try it out.

First of all I have installed VMWare player 6.0.2 build-1744117 on a Windows 8.1 4GB Asus laptop, downloaded the Hortonworks_Sandbox_2.1 ova file.

It all loads up correctly apart from an error:

Call From sandbox.hortonworks.com/192.168.200.128 sandbox.hortonworks.com:8020 failed on connection java.net.ConnectException: Connection refused

I don’t know if this is important or whether it is a showstopper, but it didn’t look good to me.

It seems to work up to a point. The load of the VM works and I can load up the http://192.168.200.128/ “Welcome to the Hortonworks Data Platform (HDP) 2.1 Sandbox” page, but when I click on the “Dive right in” http://127.0.0.1:8000 link on the page I just get an Unable to access network error:

Google Chrome is having trouble accessing the network.

This may be because your firewall or anti-virus software wrongly thinks Google Chrome is an intruder on your computer and is blocking it from connecting to the Internet.
    Allow Chrome to access the network in your firewall or antivirus settings.
    If it is already listed as a programme that is allowed to access the network, try removing it from the list and adding it again.
    Error code: ERR_NETWORK_ACCESS_DENIED

I have also tried firefox, but get a similar error.

I’ve tried opening the ports used, disabling the firewall, but this seems to have no effect.

I also tried ssh root@192.168.200.128 but it just seems to hang (I’ve also tried with the -v switch and it seems to connect, but hangs and doesn’t return to the user).