Home Forums HDP on Linux – Installation Namenode and HistoryServer start but stop immediately in Ambari 1.4.1

This topic contains 6 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Mariví Peláez-Alonso 9 months, 3 weeks ago.

• Creator
    Topic

Hi,

I’m trying to install an small-testing HDP cluster (only 4 nodes), using ambari 1.4.1.61 with the 2.0.6 stack, on RHEL6 and using OpenJDK7 by default. Finally we have been able to install it, but the start and test phases of the wizard ended with some warnings. When we accessed ambari-server UI we found out that HistoryServer and NameNode were not running. We tried to start them individually and they seemed to start, but after a while they stopped. The rest of the services are up and running.

This is my very first time using HDP and it is being very difficult to follow what is happening: in ambari-server and ambari-agents logs there were no information about the errors. I cannot find the log file for the NameNode, that, I believe, might be in /var/log/hadoop/hdfs, but there are only logs related to the SecondaryNameNode, that is up and running. In the end, I have no clues on what is actually happening. I also tried to follow the troubleshooting points, but nothing seems to be related to this particular case.

Finally, I repeated the full installation three times, but the result is the same.

Could someone give me some advice on how to debug it?

Thanks a lot.

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

The topic ‘Namenode and HistoryServer start but stop immediately in Ambari 1.4.1’ is closed to new replies.

• Author
    Replies

Hi Dave,

Finally, I left data directories as follows:
    - dfs.namenode.name.dir = /var/hadoop/hdfs/namenode
    - dfs.datanode.data.dir = /var/hadoop/hdfs/data

I restarted all the services and they worked like a charm.

I did not execute hadoop namenode -format, but I’m not pretty sure if it’s needed, now that it is working.

Thank you very much, because you led me to the solution.