The Hortonworks Community Connection is now live. A completely rebuilt Q&A forum, Knowledge Base, Code Hub and more, backed by the experts in the industry.

You will be redirected here in 10 seconds. If your are not redirected, click here to visit the new site.

The legacy Hortonworks Forum is now closed. You can view a read-only version of the former site by clicking here. The site will be taken offline on January 31,2016

HDP on Linux – Installation Forum

No Hadoop services are starting after successful installation

Hello,
    I am very new to hadoop. I installed hadoop on my workstation (Windows 7) and the installation was successful. But when i try to start all services by start_hdp_Local_services none of the services are starting.
    I am able to ping my hostserver i.e. my workstation without any issues.
    i have installed this msi (hdp-1.1.0-GA.winpkg) with my cluster properties being

#Log directory
    HDP_LOG_DIR=d:\hadoop\logs

#Data directory
    HDP_DATA_DIR=d:\hadoop\data

#Hosts
    NAMENODE_HOST=GNAIR
    SECONDARY_NAMENODE_HOST=GNAIR
    JOBTRACKER_HOST=GNAIR
    HIVE_SERVER_HOST=GNAIR
    OOZIE_SERVER_HOST=GNAIR.
    TEMPLETON_HOST=GNAIR
    SLAVE_HOSTS=GNAIR

#Database host
    DB_FLAVOR=mssql
    DB_HOSTNAME=GNAIR

#Hive properties
    HIVE_DB_NAME=Hive
    HIVE_DB_USERNAME=hive_dbuser
    HIVE_DB_PASSWORD=password

#Oozie properties
    OOZIE_DB_NAME=oozie
    OOZIE_DB_USERNAME=oozie_dbuser
    OOZIE_DB_PASSWORD=password

Any help or direction will be highly appreciated.

Thanks

• Author
    Replies
    Robert
    Participant

Hi Member,
    Looks like you are on a single node. If you try to start the namenode service, can you provide what the error is displayed in the .err file for namenode located in C:\hdp\hadoop\hadoop-1.1.0-SNAPSHOT\bin (if your installation was in c: drive) as well as .wrapper file for namenode? It should give some type of hint.

Regards,
    Robert

Robert
    Participant

Hi Member,