Home Forums Hortonworks Sandbox Not able to open Sandbox IP in browser

This topic contains 36 replies, has 23 voices, and was last updated by  John Thuma 10 months, 2 weeks ago.

  • Creator
    Topic
  • #16499

    Manish Bhoge
    Member

    Hi,
    I have followed up the instructions from the manual and the sandbox set up completed successfully. It shows the IP address of the Sandbox. But when i try to open in my browser it doesn’t open. Even i am not able to ping this IP from my computer. What could be the possible issue?
    Is it related to DHCP setting? FYI.. It is already enabled.

Viewing 30 replies - 1 through 30 (of 36 total)

The topic ‘Not able to open Sandbox IP in browser’ is closed to new replies.

  • Author
    Replies
  • #46641
    Collapse
    #46640

    John Thuma
    Participant

    I am having the exact same issue running VMWare and sandbox 2.0. I am not able to Ping, SSH, or HTTP into any IP Address. No browser works IE, Crome,or FF. My thought is that the IP address being configured is not in the acceptable range in the VWare network settings on the host. I am not going to change the IP configurations as they are already setup to run Aster express VMs. Is there a way to set the IP address within Sandbox instead? Or does anyone have any idea how to fix this?

    Collapse
    #39024

    I had the same issue. Wasn’t working with IE or Chrome. Guess what, it worked with Firefox.

    Collapse
    #38673

    Dave
    Moderator

    Hi,

    If you use bridged network adapter do you still have problems?
    If you use the IP of the sandbox’s ifconfig output does it work?

    Thanks

    Dave

    Collapse
    #38213

    Phil Poirier
    Member

    Hi, I have the same problem. VirtualBox and Sandbox are working fine, but when I try to connect with Firefox or IE, I get “the page cannot be displayed” error.
    Here are my details:

    -Windows 7 Home Premium (Version 6.1, Build: 7601, Service Pack 1), 8 GIG RAM on laptop, plenty of disk space as well (over 250 GIG)
    -Oracle VirtualBox 4.2.18 r88780
    -HortonWorks Sandbox 1.3 (complete filename = Hortonworks+Sandbox+1.3+VirtualBox+RC6.ova) downloaded on 9/25/2013
    -Firefox 24, IE9 (neither can connect to the Sandbox)

    Here’s a screenshot showing how my network adapters are set up for the VirtualBox/Hortonworks Sandbox:

    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/45215366/NetworkAdapterSettings.png

    The virtual box and the sandbox work fine. When I start the Hortonworks Sandbox, everything launches successfully, and I get the message saying to open a web browser and use address http://127.0.0.1:8888/ and SSH on 127.0.0.1:2222.

    Here is the screenshot>>>> https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/45215366/Hortonworks%20Sandbox%201.png

    Neither browser (Firefox nor IE9) can connect. I can PING 127.0.0.1, but trying to PING 127.0.0.1:8888 and 127.0.0.1:2222 will error saying host could not be found.

    Here are the results of IPCONFIG in Windows:
    Windows IP Configuration
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::60b7:3244:7621:6016%13
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.103
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Ethernet adapter VirtualBox Host-Only Network:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::7d76:f6e2:d11c:6e88%28
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.56.1
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    Here are screenshots of the output from the ifconfig from the Sandbox’s OS:

    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/45215366/Hortonworks%20Sandbox%202.png

    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/45215366/Hortonworks%20Sandbox%203.png

    I’m a database developer and data architect and not really well-versed with these types of network settings…does anyone have any suggestions on how to remedy this?

    Thanks.

    -Phil

    Collapse
    #37941

    Hi Guys,

    I am trying to setup the 1.3 version. Everything goes fine and I get the following IP to open in browser: 192.168.208.128
    But it does not open.
    Please note that this is in VMPlayer.

    Here is the ipconfig on my laptop:

    U:\>ipconfig

    Windows IP Configuration

    Ethernet adapter VMware Network Adapter VMnet8:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.208.1
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    Ethernet adapter VMware Network Adapter VMnet1:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.44.1
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 19:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : au.cbainet.com
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.234.40.47
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.234.40.254

    And here is the ifconfig on Sandbox:

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:00:0C:29:5D:E3:4B
    inet addr: 192.168.208.128 Bcast:10.0.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::20c:29ff:fe5d:e34b/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:32 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:924 (924.0 b) TX bytes:2688 (2.6 KiB)

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:27606 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:27606 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:4628003 (4.4 MiB) TX bytes:4628003(4.4 MiB)

    Please note that I am not an expert in networking so it would be great if someone knows a solution and explain to me in simple terms :)

    Thanks,
    Sam

    Collapse
    #32415


    Member

    Hello,

    I installed Oracle VM VirtualBox on my laptop Windows 7 and running Hortonworks Sandbox 1.3. I’m not able to initiate Sandbox session in a web browser. It’s asking me to enter http://127.0.0.1:8888/ and also says You can access SSH on 127.0.0.1:2222 . Please advise.

    On Sandbox eth0, eth1 are running.
    eth0 inet addr: 192.168.56.101
    eth1 inet addr: 10.0.3.15
    lo inter addr: 127.0.0.1 (Local Loopback)

    On my machine:

    C:\>ipconfig

    Windows IP Configuration

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : nc.rr.com

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : eads.ncads.net
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d0b9:3b7a:f391:b5b6%11
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.5.133.4
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.254.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.5.132.1

    Ethernet adapter VirtualBox Host-Only Network:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::b03a:8888:3186:39cd%17
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.56.1
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    Thanks
    Bharath

    Collapse
    #31452

    Cheryle Custer
    Moderator

    Hi JohnLef,

    Take a look at SQL Joe’s blog: http://sqljoe.wordpress.com/2013/08/07/connecting-to-the-hortonworks-sandbox-v1-3-through-ip-192-168-56-101/ See if that helps.

    Also, try another browser other than IE10 as that configuration is not tested or supported.

    Cheryle

    Collapse
    #31299


    Member

    I am running HyperV on a Win8 machine with IE10 and the latest download of the Sandbox. I cannot get the browser to connect but I can log on to the console. ifconfig shows inet addr:: 192.168.56.101 for eth0. In HyperV I do not see an IP address assigned, thus I presume it is a problem with my HyperV setup. I do have a Win8VM running with an external virtual switch that works fine but the Sandbox does not work with either an internal or external switch.

    Collapse
    #31151

    Sasha J
    Moderator

    Member,
    you should check your VMWare configuration for DNCP.
    It seems misconfigured.

    Sasha

    Collapse
    #31088


    Member

    Hi All,
    i’m also facing the same issue. not able to access the sand box from my host browser.
    i’m using vm ware workstation 8.0.6. host machine is windows7 64bit.
    vm box saying open in browser with http://192.168.18.128/. but not able to open from my host browser.
    host ipv4 address is 192.168.1.3. vm inet address is giving 192.168.18.128.
    network adapter is host only.

    please help.

    Collapse
    #28614

    tedr
    Moderator

    Hi Seth,

    Can you try downloading the latest version of the Sandbox that has only one ethernet interface?

    Thanks,
    Ted.

    Collapse
    #28447

    As a followup. I have discovered that my inability to access the Sandbox problem was only with Internet Explorer. Firefox was able to access the server. Don’t know why. But I have a way forward!

    Collapse
    #28446

    Hi all, I seem to be having a variation of this problem getting the Hortonworks Sandbox to respond through my web browser. I followed the instructions and I can ping the IP address and SSH the IP that the Sandbox VM is giving on the Oracle VM screen. I noticed that 70-persistent-net.rules failed as it loaded. When I use ifconfig I get
    :
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 08:00:27:B6:69:43
    inet addr:10.0.2.15 Bcast:10.0.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::a00:27ff:feb6:6943/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:670 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:728 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:83518 (81.5 KiB) TX bytes:68538 (66.9 KiB)

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 08:00:27:C9:2C:A1
    inet addr:192.168.56.102 Bcast:192.168.56.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::a00:27ff:fec9:2ca1/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:84 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:88 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:11318 (11.0 KiB) TX bytes:14394 (14.0 KiB)

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:385721 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:385721 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:66859021 (63.7 MiB) TX bytes:66859021 (63.7 MiB)

    And using Ipconfig on my windows 7 laptop:

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    : [redacted]
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    [redacted]

    Ethernet adapter VirtualBox Host-Only Network:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::154e:4c64:8b00:2d84%29
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.56.1
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{31821D71-0F1D-4CDD-8799-19B73C27F568}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    [redacted] more fluff.

    ***********

    Anyway can anyone suggest why I can ping and ssh but it still wont open in a browser?

    Collapse
    #28379

    i have installed sandbox1.3 on windows 8 hyper V. On completion it show me browser ip as 192.168.56.101 but it not working on browser. i followed this post and tried to confirm the ip with ifconfig but there also it showing the same ip. Don’t know why its not working. any help will be highly appreciated.

    Collapse
    #28071

    After 2 tries i have Success!

    I must to restart my VM.

    Collapse
    #23757

    Yi Zhang
    Moderator

    Hi Rupert,

    There was a mistake in the sandbox install instructions. The web browser url should be pointing to 192.168.57.128:8080, not 192.168.56.101. Is 192.168.57.128 not working for you from the host machine?

    Thanks,
    Yi

    Collapse
    #23662

    Rupert Bailey
    Participant

    Gents I have installed this on a VMPlayer with on two systems and the required url is
    Ubuntu 12.10 172.16.40.128
    Windows 7 192.168.57.128 (which corresponds to the eth1)

    Now host-only setup is in eth0 and I can’t ssh into
    any nor use the web browser. The auto config IP seems to match the systems but I can’t seem to connect
    with them… as somebody tested this on vmware?

    Collapse
    #22534

    tedr
    Member

    Hi Shubh,

    Thanks again for trying out the Hortonworks Sandbox.

    Please see my response to your question in the other post.

    Thanks,
    Ted.

    Collapse
    #22298

    Shubh Paul
    Member

    I am having the issue while starting the Hadoop sandbox from the virtual box. Below is the error: “Could not start the machine sandbox HDP bombardier2 because the following physical network interfaces were not found: vboxnet0 (Adapter2) .. you can either change your machine’s network settings or stop the machine.” My adapter 1 is NAT and adapter 2 is virtual box host only ethernet adapter.. please help me. Thanks in advance.

    Collapse
    #21278

    tedr
    Member

    Hi Seth,

    thanks for letting us know that you have it working now.

    Thanks,
    Ted

    Collapse
    #21277

    Seth Earley
    Member

    Success! Looks like I am all set now. I updated the version of the Virtual Machine software and reimported the sandbox.

    Thanks to all of you for your assistance. I really appreciate it.

    I would be interested in speaking with people who are working in the space to get “war stories” about their experience with Hadoop and related tools in case anyone is interested in chatting. Please contact me at seth@earley.com if you are interested in having a brief discussion for my research. Or if there are more appropriate forums where I might post this request, please let me know.

    Seth

    Collapse
    #21139

    Sasha J
    Moderator

    Seth,
    you misspelled command…
    It should be:

    ifconfig

    Thank you!
    Sasha

    Collapse
    #21048

    Robert
    Participant

    Hi Seth,
    Are you able to login to the console of the virtual machine? You can do so by using the user root and password is hadoop. Once logged in, execute and ifconfig and verify what are the ip addresses showing up?

    Regards,
    Robert

    Collapse
    #20996

    Seth Earley
    Member

    Yes it is Windows.
    Adapter
    IPv4 Address192.168.51.1
    IPv4 Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

    DHCP Server
    Server Address 192.168.56.100
    Server Mask 255.255.255.0
    Lower Address bound 192.168.56.101
    Upper Address bound 192.168.56.254

    I am trying the approach outlined below by Sasha.

    Thanks

    Seth

    Collapse
    #20926

    Sasha J
    Moderator

    Seth,
    take a look on this article, it may be a solution for you:

    http://www.brokenwire.net/bw/Various/120/fix-virtualbox-causes-unidentified-network-on-vista-and-windows-7

    Thank you!
    Sasha

    Collapse
    #20831

    tedr
    Member

    Hi Seth,

    Are you running Virtualbox on Windows? What is the configuration of the DHCP server you enabled?

    Thanks,
    Ted.

    Collapse
    #20773

    Seth Earley
    Member

    Hi there,

    I am having a similiar issue. I have Enabled DHCP and get the ip address of the Sandbox. However I am not able to ping this address. Adapter 1 is NAT, Adapter 2 is Host-only Adapter set to VirtualBox Host-Only Ethernet Adapter #2 . I have rebooted my machine and tried reinstalling the Sandbox. I have read through the various posts dealing with this issue and am not sure how to proceed. I appreciate any direction.

    Seth

    Collapse
    #17552

    Manish Bhoge
    Member

    Thanks Larry. It is up and running now.

    Collapse
    #17462

    Larry Liu
    Moderator

    Hi, Manish

    When you turn on sandbox, what ip you see? Is it 192.168.56.101 or different ip?

    The issue seems like Host-Only Network adapter is not set up properly. From Seth’s post, the correct ip address should be like 192.168.56.1 (this is the ip address on my computer).

    One thing to try is to reboot your computer.

    Larry

    Collapse
Viewing 30 replies - 1 through 30 (of 36 total)