Home Forums HDFS Possible to set Hortonworks 1.3 on a Single VM?

Tagged: ,

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Seth Lyubich 1 year ago.

• Creator
    Topic

yamei gu

Hi,

I am new to Hortonworks and have followed the instruction to install v1.3. However, for experiment purpose, I only got 1 VM to set up with it. And everytime tried to start datanode, “/usr/lib/hadoop/bin/hadoop-daemon.sh –config $HADOOP_CONF_DIR start datanode”, failed.

Is that a limitation with V1.3? Since I tried with V2.0alpha before, and it was fine.

Thanks,
    YG

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

The topic ‘Possible to set Hortonworks 1.3 on a Single VM?’ is closed to new replies.

• Author
    Replies

Seth Lyubich
    Keymaster

Hi Yamei,

Thanks for letting us know that you resolved your issue.

Thanks,
    Seth

Collapse

yamei gu

Thanks Robert.

I did find the right log file, and it turns out that datanode didn’t start because of old cache file. “Directory is in an inconsistent state”

Find the solution http://stackoverflow.com/questions/11021786/hdfs-data-directory-is-in-an-inconsistent-state-is-incompatible-with-others

Collapse

Robert
    Participant

Hi yamei,
    The datanode logs which are normally located in /var/log/hadoop/hdfs/ should have some message as to why it is not starting. Can you provide the bottom of the file where it states datanode stops? There are numerous reasons which prevent datanode to not start. Majority of the time is that the file locations it needs to access do not have the proper permissions. But start off the log and see if it gives any hints.

Hope that helps.
    Regards,
    Robert

Collapse

yamei gu

Thanks Sasha.

What I am trying to do is following the RPM install guide to get myself familiar with the architecture. However, the datanode just doesn’t start, and I am wondering how could I debug why, since there is not much information in the log:

limit -a for user hdfs