Home Forums HDP on Linux – Installation Registration Failed

This topic contains 21 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Sasha J 1 year, 8 months ago.

  • Creator
    Topic
  • #20612

    Anthony Mattas
    Participant

    I previously had a working cluster, however, decided for the experience to try to rebuild it. Unfortunately registration keeps failing though. I looked at the log and didn’t see anything way out of the norm, so if anyone could give me some guidance this would be great. This is on CentOS 6.

    STDOUT

    STDERR
    STDOUT

    STDERR
    STDOUT
    Verifying Python version compatibility…
    Using python /usr/bin/python2.6
    Checking for previously running Ambari Agent…
    Starting ambari-agent
    Verifying ambari-agent process status…
    Ambari Agent successfully started
    Agent PID at: /var/run/ambari-agent/ambari-agent.pid
    Agent log at: /var/log/ambari-agent/ambari-agent.out
    (‘hostname: ok HDP-NameNode1.intranet.gsite.com
    ip: ok 172.28.203.100
    cpu: ok Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5620 @ 2.40GHz
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5620 @ 2.40GHz
    memory: ok 7.67905 GB
    disks: ok
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/mapper/vg_hdpnamenode1-lv_root
    50G 1.3G 46G 3% /
    tmpfs 3.9G 0 3.9G 0% /dev/shm
    /dev/sda1 485M 32M 429M 7% /boot
    /dev/mapper/vg_hdpnamenode1-lv_home
    120G 188M 114G 1% /home
    os: ok CentOS release 6.4 (Final)
    iptables: ok
    Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT 0 packets, 0 bytes)
    pkts bytes target prot opt in out source destination

    Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT 0 packets, 0 bytes)
    pkts bytes target prot opt in out source destination

    Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT 0 packets, 0 bytes)
    pkts bytes target prot opt in out source destination
    selinux: ok SELINUX=disabled
    SELINUXTYPE=targeted
    yum: ok yum-3.2.29-40.el6.centos.noarch
    rpm: ok rpm-4.8.0-32.el6.x86_64
    openssl: ok openssl-1.0.0-27.el6.x86_64
    curl: ok curl-7.19.7-35.el6.x86_64
    wget: ok wget-1.12-1.8.el6.x86_64
    net-snmp: UNAVAILABLE
    net-snmp-utils: UNAVAILABLE
    ntpd: UNAVAILABLE
    ruby: UNAVAILABLE
    puppet: UNAVAILABLE
    nagios: UNAVAILABLE
    ganglia: UNAVAILABLE
    passenger: UNAVAILABLE
    hadoop: UNAVAILABLE
    yum_repos: ok
    HDP-UTILS-1.1.0.15 Hortonworks Data Platform Utils Version – HDP-UTILS-1. 52
    zypper_repos: UNAVAILABLE
    ‘, None)

Viewing 21 replies - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

  • Author
    Replies
  • #21909

    Sasha J
    Moderator

    Anthony,
    good to know you got it working.

    Thank you!
    Sasha

    Collapse
    #21906

    Anthony Mattas
    Participant

    I rebuilt it from scratch and got it working. This is now the 5th time I’ve built it, the previous three unsuccessful. (The first I didn’t like my configuration).

    It seems however the three times I tried to build it that failed I was using the CentOS 6.4 minimal image. I installed the requierd pre-req’s but apparently that’s not enough. It will install fine on a CentOS Basic Server Install though.

    Collapse
    #21860

    Larry Liu
    Moderator

    Hi, Anthony

    Can you please clarify what do you mean ‘fully reset them’?

    Larry

    Collapse
    #21819

    Anthony Mattas
    Participant

    Outside of completely reinstalling the nodes – is there any suggestion on how to fully reset them?

    Collapse
    #21754

    tedr
    Moderator

    Hi Antony,

    Thanks for the information, it will help me in my tests.

    Thanks,
    Ted.

    Collapse
    #21753

    Anthony Mattas
    Participant

    I have 3 Nodes –

    hdp-namenode1
    hdp-datanode1
    hdp-datanode2

    I plan on building it out to 20 but I want to atleast get three online first. :-)

    Collapse
    #21752

    tedr
    Moderator

    Hi Antony,

    I am going to run some tests here to try and replicate your issue. One bit of information I cannot glean from the thread so far is how many hosts in the cluster?

    Thanks,
    Ted.

    Collapse
    #21749

    Anthony Mattas
    Participant

    I did, I actually did the whole process twice with the same results. (In retrospect the only thing I didn’t do is clear my browser cache).

    Is there any other steps I should do besides “ambari-server reset” to make sure I’m truly getting a clean install?

    Collapse
    #21747

    tedr
    Moderator

    Hi Antony,

    Looking at that log, it looks like Ambari thinks that you have not set up a name for your cluster and have not set any node hostnames. After doing the ‘Ambari-server reset’ you did go back and put all this information in again, correct?

    Thanks,
    Ted.

    Collapse
    #21741

    Anthony Mattas
    Participant

    Well since it’s fairly short I’ll just post it here.

    System check results:
    Mon Apr 15 12:20:05 EDT 2013
    Cluster name:
    Total number of nodes: 0
    Nodes names:
    Nodes IP addresses:

    =========== =========== ===========
    Ambari-server failures
    INFO:root:Parallel scp returns for agent script. All failed hosts are: []. Failed on last step: []
    INFO:root:Parallel ssh returns for setup agent. All failed hosts are: []. Failed on last step: []
    INFO:root:Parallel scp returns for agent script. All failed hosts are: []. Failed on last step: []
    INFO:root:Parallel ssh returns for setup agent. All failed hosts are: []. Failed on last step: []
    INFO:root:Parallel scp returns for agent script. All failed hosts are: []. Failed on last step: []
    INFO:root:Parallel ssh returns for setup agent. All failed hosts are: []. Failed on last step: []
    INFO:root:Parallel scp returns for agent script. All failed hosts are: []. Failed on last step: []
    INFO:root:Parallel ssh returns for setup agent. All failed hosts are: []. Failed on last step: []

    =========== =========== ===========

    Collapse
    #21737

    Larry Liu
    Moderator

    Hi, Anthony,

    You are right. I am wondering if the folder is not created successfully. Can you please check or upload ambari server and ambari agent log to our ftp?

    http://hortonworks.com/community/forums/topic/hmc-installation-support-help-us-help-you/

    Larry

    Collapse
    #21732

    Anthony Mattas
    Participant

    /tmp exists but /tmp/ambari-agent doesn’t exist, but shouldn’t Ambari be creating that?

    Collapse
    #21731

    Larry Liu
    Moderator

    Hi, Anthony

    From your error message, I found the following:

    ERROR 2013-04-14 22:22:44,327 main.py:133 – Ambari prefix dir /tmp/ambari-agent does not exists, can’t continue

    Can you please double check if directory /tmp/ambari-agent exists?

    Larry

    Collapse
    #21679

    Anthony Mattas
    Participant

    So I went through and tried fixing DNS names to be lower case across the board, I then ran “ambari-server reset” and attempted to reconfigure. This is now what I get.

    http://pastebin.com/rXdvws1Q

    Collapse
    #20857

    tedr
    Member

    Hi Anthony,

    The particular cases I am remembering the uppercase name was on the hostname of the box and ambari and dns had the lowercase name.

    Thanks,
    Ted.

    Collapse
    #20846

    Anthony Mattas
    Participant

    Case sensitivity when stored in DNS, or in Ambari, or both?

    Collapse
    #20828

    tedr
    Member

    Hi Anthony,

    I can’t see anything that would definitely cause a registration failure in that paste either. The only possibility, and a very slim one at that, is the casing of the hostname. We have seen a few instances where registration fails because of uppercase letters in the hostname.

    Thanks,
    Ted.

    Collapse
    #20630

    Anthony Mattas
    Participant

    Brand new hosts, and started clean.

    Collapse
    #20624

    Seth Lyubich
    Keymaster

    Hi Anthony,

    Can you please let us know the steps you took to rebuild your cluster? Did you uninstall all components, reset Ambari server, etc?

    Thanks,
    Seth

    Collapse
    #20614

    Anthony Mattas
    Participant

    Agh! Here’s the paste. http://pastebin.com/yTEJXn3f

    Collapse
    #20613

    Anthony Mattas
    Participant

    STDOUT

    STDERR
    STDOUT

    STDERR
    STDOUT
    Verifying Python version compatibility…
    Using python /usr/bin/python2.6
    Checking for previously running Ambari Agent…
    Starting ambari-agent
    Verifying ambari-agent process status…
    Ambari Agent successfully started
    Agent PID at: /var/run/ambari-agent/ambari-agent.pid
    Agent log at: /var/log/ambari-agent/ambari-agent.out
    (‘hostname: ok HDP-NameNode1.intranet.gsite.com
    ip: ok 172.28.203.100
    cpu: ok Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5620 @ 2.40GHz
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5620 @ 2.40GHz
    memory: ok 7.67905 GB
    disks: ok
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/mapper/vg_hdpnamenode1-lv_root
    50G 1.3G 46G 3% /
    tmpfs 3.9G 0 3.9G 0% /dev/shm
    /dev/sda1 485M 32M 429M 7% /boot
    /dev/mapper/vg_hdpnamenode1-lv_home
    ‘, None)
    (‘ \’sshdsakey\': \’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\’,
    \’sshrsakey\': \’AAAAB3NzaC1yc2EAAAABIwAAAQEArYOd8cWkDcdju17wJxF/w7zywbGyxbcaD0nnEtA8cxu+/EQpepT7sQOlCP7T/whmk/ziYzcNxynjH9I60r1ExM80n5n+rdV3I6DsnCO5OLiokUJmQoukk9HL5oUBoo+A/LuA7x12ULD0MUJVPsSjHFbCPRcUzEqSd843neRssfkFYZjC9lxExDveavIYo8eDhPnqXpD5X+e42TOJPQjgtKKJzpEG8mCSQ/O84AbJkgW8SsXqI4n8I0hvi+fsn1OHCrYU5jahyoJeiQxUtSH+wRJXUyceZxowO/iScOeFKUMZ0VbQdOXV2FfxkdsjchSxcxeV9OZ/WWTN4xoTd+XCmQ==\’,
    \’swapfree\': \’7.81 GB\’,
    \’swapsize\': \’7.81 GB\’,
    \’timezone\': \’EDT\’,
    \’uniqueid\': \’1cac64cb\’,
    \’uptime\': \’0:02 hours\’,
    \’uptime_days\': \’0\’,
    \’uptime_hours\': \’0\’,
    \’uptime_seconds\': \’169\’,
    \’virtual\': \’physical\’}
    INFO 2013-04-05 16:40:45,014 Controller.py:87 – Registering with the server \'{“timestamp”: 1365194442432, “hostname”: “hdp-namenode1.intranet.gsite.com”, “responseId”: -1, “publicHostname”: “hdp-namenode1.intranet.gsite.com”, “hardwareProfile”: {“kernel”: “Linux”, “domain”: “intranet.gsite.com”, “ipaddress_lo”: “127.0.0.1”, “memoryfree”: 7675576, “memorytotal”: 8053063, “swapfree”: “7.81 GB”, “processorcount”: “2”, “is_virtual”: false, “timezone”: “EDT”, “hardwareisa”: “x86_64″, “id”: “root”, “netmask_lo”: “255.0.0.0”, “ps”: “ps -ef”, “uptime”: “0:02 hours”, “macaddress_eth0″: “00:15:5D:02:70:18″, “rubyversion”: “1.8.7”, “hostname”: “HDP-NameNode1″, “facterversion”: “1.6.10”, “virtual”: “physical”, “operatingsystem”: “CentOS”, “network_lo”: “127.0.0.0”, “sshdsakey”:

    Collapse
Viewing 21 replies - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)