Home Forums Hortonworks Sandbox Sandbox launched, no URL access

This topic contains 11 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  Cheryle Custer 1 year, 6 months ago.

  • Creator
    Topic
  • #26837

    Michael Funk
    Member

    I have tried to get Sandbox HDP Bombardier 2 work on Win 7 Ultimate 64bit/quad core/8GB RAM/AMD-V enabled system using VirtualBox (VB) v4.2.12. The image loads in VB and I see “HortonWorks Sandbox 1.2″ and “To initiate your Hortonworks Sandbox session….” with the IP 192.168.56.101. However, attempting to connect to that page is not working on any browser (up to date Chrome, Firefox and Safari).

    I followed the installation instructions explicitly. I restarted the VM, then VB, then the machine. I even discarded the image and started over from scratch with same results.
    The Network adapter is “Host-only Adapter” and is enabled for the image. Virtual box settings has the DHCP server enabled and has the IPs listed in the instructions’ screen shot are what is populated in those fields.

    Logging into the image and running “ifconfig” confirms the same IP addresses in found in DHCP settings.

    Scouring the forums (and Google) has not produced any solutions.

    Please advise and TIA

Viewing 11 replies - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

  • Author
    Replies
  • #28112

    Cheryle Custer
    Moderator

    Hi Marcos,

    I would recommend trying the latest version of the Sandbox and when you are installing/importing it, accept all of the default settings.

    Collapse
    #28070

    well a i have de same problem … Sandbox 1.2 + VMWARE Player hosted ina a windows 7.

    I followed all installing instrutions , include , add a network device adaptator (setps 7 to 9) in VM.
    but cant acesss url displayed…

    Shold I skip to Sandbox 1.3???

    Collapse
    #27788

    tedr
    Moderator

    Hi Rasheed,

    Is there an IP addres/URL shown in the Sandbox vm? if so connect to that address, if not then something went wrong on boot up of your vm.

    Thanks,
    Ted.

    Collapse
    #27692

    Ted – i have sandbox 1.3 on virtual box and am unable to connect by pointing to http://127.0.0.1:8888

    please advise

    thx
    RJ

    Collapse
    #27647

    tedr
    Moderator

    Hi Michael,

    Thanks for letting is know that you are up and running now!

    Thanks,
    Ted.

    Collapse
    #27599

    Michael Funk
    Member

    Update:
    So downloading and installing the new v1.3 of the Sandbox resolved the issue. Thanks to all who attempted to assist – the best advice is to run v1.3

    thanks!

    Collapse
    #27398

    tedr
    Moderator

    Hi Piyush,

    In the 1.3 version of the Sandbox the link you need to point your browser at is http://127.0.0.1:8888.

    Thanks,
    Ted.

    Collapse
    #27314

    Hi I am vmware player/sandbox(1.3) on win 7 32 bit. I cannot access this URL after starting sandbox

    http://192.168.31.128

    Tried this as well

    http://192.168.57.128:8080/

    In both the cases getting network timed out error

    Pls help

    Collapse
    #26911

    Cheryle Custer
    Moderator

    Hi

    I’m sorry you’re having issues. Please note that the IP address will change from person to person, depending on how many VMs are running, etc.

    Michael, are you running any other virtualization software on your system? VMware, KVM, HyperV? There can be conflicts.

    Also, depending on your network, your firewalls may cause issue. Can you try disabling your network connections and booting everything up from there?

    Thanks,

    Cheryle

    Collapse
    #26896

    Michael Funk
    Member

    @Robert
    Thanks for the reply. I did see that forum post and had tried that IP before. Also tried it again this evening with no success. There was a link to the brokenwire.net blog post that I followed as well, but with same results: I still cannot access the Hortonworks Sandbox with any of the listed IP addresses [http://192.168.57.128:8080] or [http://192.168.56.101]

    regards

    Collapse
    #26861

    Robert
    Participant

    Hi Michael,
    I saw this post:

    http://hortonworks.com/community/forums/topic/not-able-to-open-sandbox-ip-in-browser/

    where they mentioned the following:
    There was a mistake in the sandbox install instructions. The web browser url should be pointing to 192.168.57.128:8080, not 192.168.56.101

    Can you try connecting to 192.168.57.128:8080?

    Regards,
    Robert

    Collapse
Viewing 11 replies - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)