Get fresh updates from Hortonworks by email

Once a month, receive latest insights, trends, analytics, offering information and knowledge of the Big Data.

cta

Démarrer

cloud

Prêt à débuter ?

Télécharger Sandbox

Que pouvons-nous faire pour vous ?

fermerBouton Fermer
cta

Solutions et analyse prédictive
pour la santé

cloud Hortonworks is a leader. Read the Forrester Wave.

Télécharger le rapport

Arizona State University utilise HDP®
pour découvrir des informations précieuses

Arizona State University (ASU) est la plus grande université américaine et a été désignée l'« université la plus innovante des États-Unis » en 2016 par le magazine U.S. News & World Report. L'initiative Complex Adaptive Systems Initiative (ou CASI) d'ASU a créé un data lake sur le génome grâce à des pétaoctets de données génétiques sur des centaines d'individus. Des études ont pu ainsi être menées sur la façon dont chaque variante individuelle du génome peut influencer l'expression d'un gène du cancer. Ces découvertes précieuses pourraient aider à élaborer de nouveaux traitements.

Sauver des vies tout en améliorant la qualité des soins

Le monde médical est aujourd'hui confronté à des défis et des choix difficiles. Chercheurs, professionnels de la santé et administrateurs doivent prendre des décisions importantes, très souvent sans disposer de données suffisantes. Hortonworks propose des plateformes de données connectées en open source (grâce à Apache™ Hadoop® et Apache NiFi) pour que les données sur la santé soient plus accessibles et plus concrètes. Les chercheurs explorent l'architecture génétique des cellules cancéreuses. Les infirmières et les médecins surveillent les patients en soins intensifs. Et les administrateurs envoient des demandes de remboursement avant que les patients ne quittent l'hôpital. Hortonworks transforme le secteur de la santé.

exemples d'utilisation

Accès aux données génomiques pour de nouveaux traitements contre le cancer

Une affirmation indiquant qu'une molécule est efficace contre le cancer dans 40 % des cas peut également vouloir dire que cette molécule est efficace à 100 % chez les patients présentant un profil génétique spécifique. Mais les données génomiques constituent des big data. En effet, un seul génome humain comprend environ 20 000 gènes. Stocké dans des plateformes de données traditionnelles, cela représenterait plusieurs centaines de gigaoctets. En combinant chaque génome avec un million de points d'ADN variables, on produit l'équivalent de 20 milliards de lignes de données par personne.

Les chercheurs dans les grandes universités et hôpitaux universitaires s'attaquent à ce défi grâce à Hortonworks Data Platform. En effet cette plateforme rentable et fiable permet de stocker les données génomiques et de les combiner avec d'autres données sur la démographie, les résultats d'essais cliniques et les réponses des patients en temps réel. Les chercheurs utilisent Hortonworks DataFlow pour envoyer ces données dans HDP. Ils peuvent ainsi prendre des décisions en temps réel et analyser des cohortes sur le long terme. Les plateformes de données connectées permettent aux médecins de déterminer quels traitements et molécules sont les plus efficaces sur les différents profils génétiques.


Suivi des signes vitaux des patients en temps réel

Dans un hôpital classique, les infirmières font des rondes et vérifient manuellement les signes vitaux des patients. Elles se rendent auprès de chaque patient à quelques heures d'intervalle et consignent leurs signes vitaux, mais l'état du patient peut se détériorer entre deux visites. Ainsi, les soignants réagissent souvent avec un temps de retard, alors qu'une intervention plus rapide aurait pu faire la différence.

De nouveaux capteurs sans fil peuvent enregistrer et transmettre les signes vitaux des patients de manière bien plus fréquente que les rondes du personnel soignant, et ces signes vitaux peuvent ensuite être envoyés vers un cluster Hadoop. Le personnel soignant peut alors utiliser ces signes pour mettre en place des alertes en temps réel et réagir plus rapidement aux évolutions inattendues. Au fil du temps, ces données s'accumulent dans HDP et alimentent des algorithmes qui peuvent prédire la probabilité d'une urgence avant même que sa détection ne soit possible lors d'une visite au chevet du patient.


Réduction de la fréquence des réadmissions liées aux pathologies cardiaques

Les patients souffrant d'une pathologie cardiaque peuvent être suivis de près à l'hôpital, mais une fois rentrés chez eux, ils peuvent ne pas prendre leurs médicaments ou ignorer le régime alimentaire ou les instructions prescrites par leur médecin lors de leur sortie de l'hôpital.

L'insuffisance cardiaque entraîne de la rétention d'eau qui se traduit par une prise de poids. Le centre hospitalier UC Irvine Health a mis sur pied un programme innovant dans lequel les patients rentrent chez eux avec un pèse-personne sans fil et se pèsent à intervalles réguliers. Des algorithmes exécutés dans Hortonworks déterminent le poids sûr maximal et alertent un médecin lors du dépassement de cette limite, qui rencontre alors son patient de manière proactive, avant une nouvelle admission en urgence.


Apprentissage automatique pour dépister l'autisme à domicile

L'autisme touche à des degrés divers 1 enfant sur 100 pour un coût annuel de plus de 100 milliards de dollars. Cette affection est détectée via le comportement de l'enfant à 18 mois, mais plus d'un cas sur quatre n'est pas diagnostiqué à 8 ans. Les quelques établissements de dépistage existants sont débordés et imposent de longues listes d'attente. Le test diagnostic le plus courant dure en général 2 heures et demie.

Le Dr Dennis Wall est responsable de l'initiative de biologie informatique de la Harvard Medical School. Dans cette présentation , il décrit un processus de dépistage mobile et low-cost de l'autisme mis au point par son équipe. Ce test dure moins de 5 minutes et s'appuie sur la capacité de stocker de grandes quantités de données semi-structurées issues de courts tests à domicile réalisés et envoyés par les parents. Le laboratoire du Dr Wall a également utilisé Facebook pour enregistrer des informations fournies par les utilisateurs sur l'autisme.

L'analyse de ces volumineux ensembles de données par une intelligence artificielle permet de maximiser l'efficacité du diagnostic sans perte d'efficacité. Cette approche, combinée au stockage de données sur un cluster Hadoop, peut être utilisée pour d'autres processus de diagnostic par apprentissage automatique innovants.

Stockage permanent des données des études médicales

Les chercheurs médicaux et scientifiques des universités vivent selon la maxime « publie ou péris ». Les données appuyant une étude étaient habituellement jointes sous forme de fichier Excel, mais les ensembles de données actuels sont désormais bien souvent trop importants. Toutefois, les études doivent en permanence être accompagnées des données qui les appuient. Si les données disparaissent, l'étude perd tout fondement.

Les universités peuvent utiliser un cluster exécutant Hortonworks Data Platform pour disposer d'une plateforme de stockage économique et permanente des données de leurs scientifiques. Les fonctions d'interrogations simples et ouvertes permettent aux scientifiques de partager des données, les valider et les réutiliser dans des études plus approfondies.

Suivi du matériel, des médicaments et du personnel soignant avec les données RFID

Les hôpitaux ont commencé à utiliser l'identification par fréquence radio (RFID) pour suivre les équipements et médicaments qui passent d'un lieu à un autre. Les lectures RFID d'un article ou dispositif permettent d'enregistrer le contenu de celui-ci, son emplacement, sa date de fabrication, la quantité commandée et les données d'expédition. Un groupe hospitalier innovant a pu déterminer la durée pendant laquelle les médecins se tenaient devant les lavabos pour se laver les mains (et réduire ainsi le risque de transmission de maladie).

À court terme, ces données peuvent permettre d'utiliser les médicaments avant leur date d'expiration ou de localiser rapidement un équipement important. À long terme, les données historiques sur l'interaction des médicaments, de l'équipement et des médecins fournissent des informations précieuses pour la planification des achats, la formation du personnel et l'amélioration de l'exploitation.

Études de cas de clients

Université d'État de l'Arizona
client
Université d'État de l'Arizona

L'Université d'État de l'Arizona (ASU) est la plus grande université des États-Unis en matière d'effectif. Elle accueille plus de 83 000 étudiants et emploie plus de 3 300 professeurs. Sa charte, approuvée par le conseil d'administration en 2014, est fondée sur le modèle  « New American University »  créé par le président de l'ASU, Michael M. Crow. Ce modèle définit l'ASU comme une université « complète...

Geisinger
client
Geisinger

Geisinger Health System is one of the largest health service organizations in the United States, serving more than 3 million residents throughout Pennsylvania and southern New Jersey. Geisinger is one of America’s leading rural healthcare providers, with an integrated, physician-led system that includes 30,000 employees, nearly 1,600 employed physicians, 12 hospital campuses, and two research centers.…

UNOS
client
UNOS

The United Network for Organ Sharing (UNOS) is the private, non-profit organization managing the United States organ transplant system. UNOS brings together hundreds of hospitals, transplant centers, organ procurement professionals, and thousands of volunteers. The mission of UNOS is to advance organ availability and transplantation by uniting and supporting communities for the benefit of patients…

HCSC
client
HCSC

Health Care Service Corporation (HCSC) is the largest customer-owned health insurance company in the United States, providing health insurance to 15 million people through Blue Cross Blue Shield affiliates in Illinois, Montana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas. HCSC uses Hortonworks Data Platform for a single view of its membership to understand what challenges its customers…

Mercy
client
Mercy

Mercy s'est associé à Hortonworks pour créer la bibliothèque de données Mercy, un Data Lake basé sur Hadoop qui s'exécute sur Hortonworks Data Platform (HDP). La bibliothèque de données comprendra des lots d'extraits de données tirés de systèmes relationnels comme Clarity, ainsi que des sources de données en temps réel (journaux d'accès Epic inclus). L'entreprise souhaite à l'avenir intégrer d'autres sources de données, telles que…

Cardinal Health
client
Cardinal Health

Fuse by Cardinal Health est un laboratoire d'innovation dont l'objectif est d'améliorer l'avenir de la santé et du bien-être en optimisant la sécurité et la rentabilité des soins. L'équipe Fuse se concentre sur les soins interconnectés, la mise en place d'une chaîne d'approvisionnement plus intelligente et la découverte de nouvelles approches par l'analyse. Fuse a choisi Hortonworks Data Platform pour optimiser son architecture de données et enrichir...

ZirMed
client
ZirMed

ZirMed, fournisseur majeur de solutions de gestion de l'information dans le secteur de la santé, a créé un cluster Hadoop exécutant HDP pour Windows 2.0. Résultat : le volume de stockage utilisable a été multiplié par 5 et la puissance de traitement a été améliorée, tout cela pour 30 % du coût des technologies traditionnelles. ZirMed, basé à Louisville dans le Kentucky a été fondé en 1999 et est un fournisseur majeur de…

Mayo Clinic
client
Mayo Clinic

La Mayo Clinic utilise la Hortonworks Data Platform (HDP) pour améliorer les Big Data pour sa pratique clinique dans plus de soixante-dix hôpitaux et cliniques, ainsi que pour développer son leadership mondialement reconnu en matière de recherche et de formation médicale. HDP aide la Mayo Clinic à extraire en temps réel des données de son dossier médical électronique (EMR) - une nouvelle fonction auparavant indisponible dans son...

UC Irvine Health
client
UC Irvine Health

Le centre hospitalier UC Irvine Health s'est tourné vers Hadoop et Hortonworks Data Platform pour améliorer le fonctionnement clinique de son hôpital et ses recherches scientifiques dans sa faculté de médecine. Ses équipes ont pu développer une pratique médicale rationalisée qui réduit les réadmissions, accélère les nouveaux projets de recherche et suit en direct les données médicales des patients. Une plateforme Hadoop pour deux...

cta

Get Started

cloud

Ready to Get Started?

Download sandbox

How can we help you?

closeClose button
cta

Connected Data Platforms for Healthcare

cloud Ready to Get Started?

Download Sandbox

Arizona State University uses HDP® to Unlock Insights

Arizona State University (ASU) is the largest university in the U.S. and was named by U.S. News & World Report as the “Most Innovative School in America” in 2016. ASU’s Complex Adaptive Systems Initiative (or CASI) built a genomic data lake with petabytes of genetic data on hundreds of individuals, powering research on how each individual variant in the genome can influence the expression of a cancer gene, thereby unlocking insight into potentially life-saving treatments.

Saving lives while delivering more efficient care

Difficult challenges and choices face today’s healthcare industry. Researchers, clinicians and administrators have to make important decisions—often without sufficient data. Hortonworks offers open source Connected Data Platforms (powered by Apache™ Hadoop® and Apache NiFi) to make healthcare data available and actionable. Researchers explore the genetic architecture of cancer cells. Nurses and physicians monitor intensive care patients. Administrators submit reimbursement claims before patients leave the hospital. Hortonworks is transforming healthcare.

Access genomic data for new cancer treatments

If we read that a given drug is “40% effective in treating cancer,” another interpretation could be that the drug is 100% effective for patients with a certain genetic profile. However, genomic data is Big Data. The data in a single human genome includes approximately 20,000 genes. Stored in traditional data platforms, this is the equivalent of several hundred gigabytes. Combining each genome with one million variable DNA locations produces the equivalent of about 20 billion rows of data per person.

Researchers at major universities and teaching hospitals are tackling that challenge with Hortonworks Data Platform as the cost-effective, reliable platform for storing genomic data and combining that with other data on demographics, trial outcomes, and real-time patient responses. They are adopting Hortonworks DataFlow to stream that data into HDP for real-time decisions and long-term cohort analyses. Connected Data Platforms help those doctors learn which drugs and treatments work best for groups of patients across the genetic spectrum.


Monitor patient vitals in real time

In a typical hospital setting, nurses do rounds and manually monitor patient vital signs. They may visit each bed every few hours to measure and record vital signs but the patient’s condition may decline between the time of scheduled visits. This means that caregivers often respond to problems reactively, in situations where arriving earlier may have made a huge difference in the patient’s wellbeing.

New wireless sensors can capture and transmit patient vitals far more frequently than human beings can visit the bedside, and these measurements can stream into a Hadoop cluster. Caregivers can use these signals for real-time alerts to respond more promptly to unexpected changes. Over time, this data accumulates in HDP, feeding algorithms that proactively help predict the likelihood of an emergency even before it could be detected with a bedside visit.


Reduce cardiac re-admittance rates

Patients with heart disease can be closely monitored while they are in a hospital, but when those patients go home, they may skip their medications or ignore dietary and self-care instructions given by their doctor when they left the hospital.

Congestive heart failure causes fluid retention, which leads to weight gain. In one innovative program at UC Irvine Health, patients could return home with a wireless scale and weigh themselves at regular intervals. Algorithms running in Hortonworks determined unsafe weight gain thresholds and alerted a physician to see the patient proactively, before an emergency re-admittance was necessary.


Machine learning to screen for autism with in-home testing

Autism spectrum disorders affect 1 in 100 children at an annual cost estimated at more than $100 billion. The condition can be detected through behavior at eighteen months, but more than 1 in 4 cases are still undiagnosed at 8 years of age. A small number of clinical testing facilities are oversubscribed, with long wait lists. The most common diagnostic test typically takes 2.5 hours to administer and score.

Dr. Dennis Wall is Director of the Computational Biology Initiative at the Harvard Medical School. In this presentation, he describes a process his team developed for low-cost, mobile screening for autism. It takes less than five minutes and relies on the ability to store large volumes of semi-structured data from brief in-home tests administered and submitted by parents. Wall’s lab also used Facebook to capture user-reported information on autism.

Artificial intelligence running on those huge data sets helps maximize efficiency of diagnosis without loss of accuracy. This approach, in combination with data storage on a Hadoop cluster, can be used for other innovative machine learning diagnostic processes.

Store medical research data forever

Medical and scientific researchers at universities live by the “publish or perish” code. Data supporting a given paper used to be appended in an Excel spreadsheet, but many of today’s data sets are just too large. Nevertheless, supporting data sets must be perpetually available is association with its paper. If the data disappears, the paper becomes unsubstantiated.

Universities can use a cluster running Hortonworks Data Platform as a cost-effective, perpetual storage platform for its scientists’ data. Easy and open querying capabilities allow scientific colleagues to share data, validate it and reuse it for more downstream research.

Track equipment, medicines and caregivers with RFID data

Hospitals have begun to use radio-frequency identification (RFID) to track equipment and medicines that move throughout their facilities. RFID scans of an item or device can capture their contents, location, manufacture date, order numbers, and shipping data. One innovative hospital group was able to determine how long its doctors stood in front of sinks to wash their hands (reducing the likelihood of disease transmission).

In the short run, this data can help utilize medicines before their dates of expiration or quickly locate an important piece of equipment. Over time, historical data on how medicines, equipment and doctors interact provides valuable information for planning purchases, training staff and improving operational efficiency.

Mercy
customer
Mercy

Mercy has partnered with Hortonworks to create the Mercy Data Library, a Hadoop-based data lake running on Hortonworks Data Platform (HDP). The Data Library will contain volumes of batch data extracts from relational systems like Clarity as well as real-time data sources including Epic access logs. They plan to ingest other data sources, including social…

Cardinal Health
customer
Cardinal Health

Fuse by Cardinal Health is an innovation lab focused on improving the future of health and wellness by making healthcare safer and more cost effective. The Fuse team focuses on connected care, building a smarter supply chain, and discovering new insights through analytics. Fuse chose Hortonworks Data Platform to optimize its data architecture and enrich…

ZirMed
customer
ZirMed

ZirMed, a leading provider of healthcare information management solutions, built a Hadoop cluster running HDP for Windows 2.0. The results were five times the amount of usable storage and greater processing power, all for 30% of the cost of traditional enterprise technologies. Louisville, KY based ZirMed, was founded in 1999 and is a leading provider…