CTA

开始

云

是否已准备就绪?

下载 sandbox

我们能为您做什么?

关闭关闭按钮
CTA

面向医疗行业的互联数据平台

云 是否已准备就绪?

下载 Sandbox

亚利桑那州立大学使用 HDP® 来获得洞察力

亚利桑那州立大学(简称 ASU)是美国最大的大学,在 2016 年被美国新闻与世界报道评为“美国最具创新性大学”。ASU 的复杂适应系统计划(简称 CASI)构建了一个基因组 Data Lake,其中包含数百人的数以 PB 计基因数据,从而支持研究基因组中的个别变异体可以如何影响癌症基因的表露,从而可以洞察可能挽救生命的治疗措施。

救死扶伤并提供更为有效的护理

如今的医疗保健行业面临严峻的调整和艰难的抉择。研究人员、临床医生和行政人员必须制定重要的决策,即使在没有足够数据的情况下。Hortonworks 提供开源式互联数据平台(由 Apache™ Hadoop® 和 Apache NiFi 支持),让医疗保健数据可用且切实可行。研究人员探索癌症细胞的基因结构。护士和医师监控需要特别护理的患者。行政人员在患者出院前提交报销申请。Hortonworks 正在改变医疗保健行业。

访问新癌症治疗的基因组数据

如果我们了解到特定药物“在治疗癌症上的生效率达到 40%”,也就可以由此解读出该药物对特定基因档案的患者百分百有效。但是,基因组数据是大数据:一个人的基因组数据包括大约 20,000 个基因。如果存储在传统数据平台中,这等于几百 GB。如果将每个基因组与一百万的变异 DNA 位置组合,那么每个人将产生约合 200 亿行数据。

主要大学和教学医院的研究人员通过以 Hortonworks Data Platform 作为经济有效且可靠的平台来存储基因组数据并将该数据与人口、实验结果和患者实时响应的数据相结合,从而解决上述难题。他们采用 Hortonworks DataFlow 将该数据串流到 HDP 以进行实时决策和长期群组分析。互联数据平台帮助这些医生了解哪些药物和治疗方法对基因谱上的患者群最有效。


实时监管患者的生命体征

在一般的医疗场地中,护士进行巡视并以人工方式监控患者生命体征。他们可以每隔数小时访问每个病床来测量并记录生命特征,但是患者的情况可能在计划的巡视间隔中恶化。这意味着在尽早发现异常会对患者健康起决定作用的情况中,护理者通常以反应性的方式进行响应。

新型无线传感器能够以远远高于医生巡房的频率来获取并传输患者生命体征数据,这些测量数据可流送到 Hadoop 集群中。护理者可使用这些实时警告信号更为迅速地响应意外变化。这种数据在 HDP 中日积月累,并提供给能够有助于前瞻性预测发生紧急情况的可能性的算法,甚至在通过临床访问检测到问题之前就可发现异常。


减少心脏病患者重新入院率

心脏病患者在住院时可受到严密监控,但是在这些患者回家以后,他们可能忘记吃药或忽视在离院时医生提供的饮食和自我护理指示。

充血性心力衰竭导致液体潴留,从而又导致发胖。在 UC Irvine Health 的一个创新计划中,患者可携带无线体重秤回家,并定期对自己称重。Hortonworks 中运行的算法确定不安全的体重增加阈值,并提醒医师在需要紧急重新入院之前提前诊视患者。


机器借助室内测试筛选孤独症患者

100 个儿童中就有一个会受到自闭症谱系障碍影响,每年造成的预计成本达到 1000 亿美元以上。通过第十八个月时的行为可检测到该状况,但是 4 个病例中就有 1 例在 8 岁时仍未得到确诊。为数不多的医疗测试设施早已人满为患,排起了长龙。最为普通的诊断测试通常需要 2.5 小时来进行管理和计分。

Dennis Wall 医生是哈佛医学院 Computational Biology Initiative 的主管。在 本演示 中,他描述了自己的团队开发的流程,用于以低成本的移动方式筛选孤独症患者。该流程所用时间不到五分钟,并且需要存储来自简短室内测试的大量准结构化数据的能力,这些测试由父母来管理并提交结果。Wall 的实验室还使用了 Facebook 来获取用户报告的有关孤独症的信息。

依靠这些大型数据集的人工智能有助于最大化了诊断效率,并且不会影响准确度。该方法结合 Hadoop 集群上的数据存储,可用于其他创新性机器学习诊断流程。

永久性存储医疗研究数据

大学的医疗和科技研究人员以“不出版就淘汰”的信条作为生存之本。支持特定论文的数据用于附加在 Excel 电子表格中,但是如今有诸多数据集过大。尽管如此,与论文相关的支持性数据集必须永久性可用。如果数据消失,论文将变得无事实根据。

各大学可采用运行 Hortonworks 数据平台的集群作为具有成本效益的永久性存储平台,用来存储其研究人员的数据。简便而开放的查询功能让研究人员们可以分享数据,验证数据以及将数据用于更多下游研究。

借助 RFID 数据来跟踪设备、药物和护工

各医院已开始使用射频标识 (RFID) 来跟踪在其设施中流通的设备和药物。对于物品或设备的 RFID 扫描可获取其所含物、制造日期、订单号和装运数据。一家创新医院小组可以确定医生站在水槽前洗手的时间长度(降低疾病传播的可能性)。

短期来看,该数据有助于在药物到期之前利用药物,或者可迅速查找重要的设备。随着时间流逝,有关药物、设备和医生互动的方式的历史数据可提供重要信息以用于采购规划、员工培训和提高运营效率。

亚利桑那州立大学
客户
亚利桑那州立大学

亚利桑那州立大学 (ASU) 是美国在校学生人数最多的公立大学,在校学生共计 83,000 多名,教职员工 3,300 多名。ASU 特许状于 2014 年由校董会批准,它基于 ASU 校长 Michael M. Crow 创立的”新型美国大学“模型。该特许状定义 ASU 为”一所综合性...

HCSC
客户
HCSC

Health Care Service Corporation (HCSC) is the largest customer-owned health insurance company in the United States, providing health insurance to 15 million people through Blue Cross Blue Shield affiliates in Illinois, Montana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas. HCSC uses Hortonworks Data Platform for a single view of its membership to understand what challenges its customers…

Mercy
客户
Mercy

Mercy 与 Hortonworks 合作创建了 Mercy 数据库,这是一个基于 Hadoop、需要在 Hortonworks Data Platform (HDP) 上运行的数据湖。该数据库将包含从 Clarity 以及实时数据源(包括 Epic 访问日志)等关系系统中提取的大量批数据。他们还计划从其他的数据源提取数据,包括社交…

Cardinal Health
客户
Cardinal Health

Fuse by Cardinal Health 是一家创新实验室,致力于提供更安全、更具成本效益的卫生保健服务,以提升未来的健康和保健事业。Fuse 团队专业提供互联式关爱服务,从而建立更为智能的供应链,并通过分析发现新的洞察力。Fuse 选择 Hortonworks Data Platform 用于优化其数据架构并丰富......

ZirMed
客户
ZirMed

ZirMed 是一家领先的医疗保健信息管理解决方案提供商,他们构建了运行 HDP for Windows 2.0 的 Hadoop 集群。结果,可用存储空间量达到之前的 5 倍,并且处理能力提高,所有这些只需要传统企业技术成本的 30%。ZirMed 于 1999 年在肯塔基州路易斯维尔成立,是领先的…

Mayo Clinic
客户
Mayo Clinic

Mayo Clinic 旗下 70 多家医院和诊所均采用 Hortonworks Data Platform (HDP) 用于改善临床实践大数据的处理工作,并巩固该组织在医学研究与教育领域的国际领先地位。HDP 帮助 Mayo Clinic 从电子病历 (EMR) 中实时获取数据——这是一种全新的功能,从该组织......

加州大学尔湾医院
客户
加州大学尔湾医院

加州大学 Irvine Health 使用 Hadoop 和 Hortonworks Data Platform 提升医院的临床手术质量,以及医学院的科研工作。该医院团队正在构建一个可量化的医疗体统,以降低患者重新入院的情况,加速新型研究项目的开发,并时刻跟踪患者的重要数据。一个 Hadoop 平台,两套不同的......

cta

Get Started

cloud

Ready to Get Started?

Download sandbox

How can we help you?

closeClose button
cta

Connected Data Platforms for Healthcare

cloud Ready to Get Started?

Download Sandbox

Arizona State University uses HDP® to Unlock Insights

Arizona State University (ASU) is the largest university in the U.S. and was named by U.S. News & World Report as the “Most Innovative School in America” in 2016. ASU’s Complex Adaptive Systems Initiative (or CASI) built a genomic data lake with petabytes of genetic data on hundreds of individuals, powering research on how each individual variant in the genome can influence the expression of a cancer gene, thereby unlocking insight into potentially life-saving treatments.

Saving lives while delivering more efficient care

Difficult challenges and choices face today’s healthcare industry. Researchers, clinicians and administrators have to make important decisions—often without sufficient data. Hortonworks offers open source Connected Data Platforms (powered by Apache™ Hadoop® and Apache NiFi) to make healthcare data available and actionable. Researchers explore the genetic architecture of cancer cells. Nurses and physicians monitor intensive care patients. Administrators submit reimbursement claims before patients leave the hospital. Hortonworks is transforming healthcare.

Access genomic data for new cancer treatments

If we read that a given drug is “40% effective in treating cancer,” another interpretation could be that the drug is 100% effective for patients with a certain genetic profile. However, genomic data is Big Data. The data in a single human genome includes approximately 20,000 genes. Stored in traditional data platforms, this is the equivalent of several hundred gigabytes. Combining each genome with one million variable DNA locations produces the equivalent of about 20 billion rows of data per person.

Researchers at major universities and teaching hospitals are tackling that challenge with Hortonworks Data Platform as the cost-effective, reliable platform for storing genomic data and combining that with other data on demographics, trial outcomes, and real-time patient responses. They are adopting Hortonworks DataFlow to stream that data into HDP for real-time decisions and long-term cohort analyses. Connected Data Platforms help those doctors learn which drugs and treatments work best for groups of patients across the genetic spectrum.


Monitor patient vitals in real time

In a typical hospital setting, nurses do rounds and manually monitor patient vital signs. They may visit each bed every few hours to measure and record vital signs but the patient’s condition may decline between the time of scheduled visits. This means that caregivers often respond to problems reactively, in situations where arriving earlier may have made a huge difference in the patient’s wellbeing.

New wireless sensors can capture and transmit patient vitals far more frequently than human beings can visit the bedside, and these measurements can stream into a Hadoop cluster. Caregivers can use these signals for real-time alerts to respond more promptly to unexpected changes. Over time, this data accumulates in HDP, feeding algorithms that proactively help predict the likelihood of an emergency even before it could be detected with a bedside visit.


Reduce cardiac re-admittance rates

Patients with heart disease can be closely monitored while they are in a hospital, but when those patients go home, they may skip their medications or ignore dietary and self-care instructions given by their doctor when they left the hospital.

Congestive heart failure causes fluid retention, which leads to weight gain. In one innovative program at UC Irvine Health, patients could return home with a wireless scale and weigh themselves at regular intervals. Algorithms running in Hortonworks determined unsafe weight gain thresholds and alerted a physician to see the patient proactively, before an emergency re-admittance was necessary.


Machine learning to screen for autism with in-home testing

Autism spectrum disorders affect 1 in 100 children at an annual cost estimated at more than $100 billion. The condition can be detected through behavior at eighteen months, but more than 1 in 4 cases are still undiagnosed at 8 years of age. A small number of clinical testing facilities are oversubscribed, with long wait lists. The most common diagnostic test typically takes 2.5 hours to administer and score.

Dr. Dennis Wall is Director of the Computational Biology Initiative at the Harvard Medical School. In this presentation, he describes a process his team developed for low-cost, mobile screening for autism. It takes less than five minutes and relies on the ability to store large volumes of semi-structured data from brief in-home tests administered and submitted by parents. Wall’s lab also used Facebook to capture user-reported information on autism.

Artificial intelligence running on those huge data sets helps maximize efficiency of diagnosis without loss of accuracy. This approach, in combination with data storage on a Hadoop cluster, can be used for other innovative machine learning diagnostic processes.

Store medical research data forever

Medical and scientific researchers at universities live by the “publish or perish” code. Data supporting a given paper used to be appended in an Excel spreadsheet, but many of today’s data sets are just too large. Nevertheless, supporting data sets must be perpetually available is association with its paper. If the data disappears, the paper becomes unsubstantiated.

Universities can use a cluster running Hortonworks Data Platform as a cost-effective, perpetual storage platform for its scientists’ data. Easy and open querying capabilities allow scientific colleagues to share data, validate it and reuse it for more downstream research.

Track equipment, medicines and caregivers with RFID data

Hospitals have begun to use radio-frequency identification (RFID) to track equipment and medicines that move throughout their facilities. RFID scans of an item or device can capture their contents, location, manufacture date, order numbers, and shipping data. One innovative hospital group was able to determine how long its doctors stood in front of sinks to wash their hands (reducing the likelihood of disease transmission).

In the short run, this data can help utilize medicines before their dates of expiration or quickly locate an important piece of equipment. Over time, historical data on how medicines, equipment and doctors interact provides valuable information for planning purchases, training staff and improving operational efficiency.

Mercy
customer
Mercy

Mercy has partnered with Hortonworks to create the Mercy Data Library, a Hadoop-based data lake running on Hortonworks Data Platform (HDP). The Data Library will contain volumes of batch data extracts from relational systems like Clarity as well as real-time data sources including Epic access logs. They plan to ingest other data sources, including social…

Cardinal Health
customer
Cardinal Health

Fuse by Cardinal Health is an innovation lab focused on improving the future of health and wellness by making healthcare safer and more cost effective. The Fuse team focuses on connected care, building a smarter supply chain, and discovering new insights through analytics. Fuse chose Hortonworks Data Platform to optimize its data architecture and enrich…

ZirMed
customer
ZirMed

ZirMed, a leading provider of healthcare information management solutions, built a Hadoop cluster running HDP for Windows 2.0. The results were five times the amount of usable storage and greater processing power, all for 30% of the cost of traditional enterprise technologies. Louisville, KY based ZirMed, was founded in 1999 and is a leading provider…