通过电子邮件获得 Hortonworks 的最新更新

每月一次,接收最新的洞察力、趋势、分析信息和大数据的知识。

CTA

开始

云

是否已准备就绪?

下载 sandbox

我们能为您做什么?

关闭关闭按钮
CTA

面向保险机构物联网和预测分析的
互联数据平台

云 “互联世界中的保险”报告

下载报告

战胜风险

利用面向保险物联网的 Hortonworks 互联数据平台,可以实现更多可能。例如,一个全方位视图不仅是您的客户,而且还有互联汽车,帮助您了解他们在哪里和如何驾驶,同时提供更好的预测分析从所有客户的大数据在保险业的行业。现在,您可以向他们提供推荐的替代安全路线和驾驶行为,让他们成为更出色的司机。

通过高级分析应用程序构建以数据为中心的业务

Changes in technology and customer expectations create new challenges for how insurers engage their customers, manage risk information and control the rising frequency and severity of claims. Carriers, like Progressive, are tapping Hortonworks for insurance IOT and predictive analytics to help rethink traditional models for customer engagement.

使用案例

构建客户的全方位概览

保险公司跨多个渠道与客户交互,而客户交互、政策和索赔数据却通常位于各个数据孤岛中。很少有保险公司能够准确地将赢得客户、交叉销售或追加销售成功与其市场营销活动或客户在线浏览行为相关联。Apache Hadoop 从保险物联网设备中收集数据并管理,从而为保险企业提供客户行为的全方位概览。它让零售商可将数据保存更长时间并确定客户生命周期的不同阶段。效果更佳的保险预测分析可帮助他们更高效率地赢得、扩大和保留最佳客户。


通过统一代理商门户来提升代理商生产力

很多保险公司通过代理商来销售保险单。为准备销售电话(或者在通话期间解答潜在客户的问题),这些代理商可能需要跨多个无关联的平台或应用程序中查找详细信息。这不仅浪费时间而且降低了销售速度。与旧有数据平台不同,HDP 将众多来源(包括保险物联网)中的数据存储在 Data Lake 中。这只需要进行一次查找,无需在不同的不相关存储平台中进行多个查询。代理商更加全面地自我准备,并且可以在给定时间段内进行更多次通话,从而有助于提高收入。保险公司还可以使用相同类型的单一视图来了解哪些代理商的产品销售效率最高,从而为业绩最佳者提供奖励或者对长期无业绩者取消资格。


创建高速缓存以处理申请文档

一旦客户同意购买新保单,代理商和/或保险商仍需要处理申请文档。这可能是漫长的人工过程,可能导致信息泄露。速度很重要,但精确性同样重要。保险行业的一家 Hortonworks 订户在 HDP 上构建了企业文档缓存。Apache HBase 将交易后文档进行缓存,同时包含元标签以加速处理。并且由于 HDP 的基于 YARN 的架构支持多租户处理同一个数据集,所以文档跟踪不会减慢风险评估或者在启动保险项目之前所需要的其他分析。高效率的文档处理不仅降低成本,还可提高代理商和保险商的生产力。


检测欺诈

保险欺诈是行业内的重大难题。根据 FBI 的调查,“保险欺诈(不包括健康保险)所导致的总成本估计每年超过 400 亿美元。这意味着,保险欺诈每年平均让每个美国家庭以增加保险费的形式花费 400 到 700 美元”。因为有 7,000 多家保险公司每年收入超过 1 千亿美元的保险费,因此犯罪具有庞大且利润丰厚的目标。他们可以在实施保险费转移、费用流动、资产转移或工人补偿欺诈等犯罪时轻松隐藏自己。美国最大的保险公司之一利用 HDP 进行机器学习和预测建模,对流数据采用基于规则的标记,以捕获更多欺诈性索赔或无效索赔。在索赔数据进入系统时,实时警报将帮助特别调查和索赔分析师以最高欺诈可能性来划分其索赔调查的优先级。

启动降低风险服务

保险公司了解风险,正如其他行业中一样,保险公司从被动使用数据转变为主动使用数据。任何索赔核算人都曾看到过已经被预见并且可能避免的意外、火灾或人身伤害,并得出诸如“他在这种天气不应该开车”或者“这些电线已经超过了更换时限”等结论。现在通过保险预测分析,保险商与其客户一起捕获和分享者这一洞察力,以避免造成损失。通过这些风险降低和预防服务,营运商与保单持有者分享实时分析,以便他们可以避免灾难。例如,他们可以建立算法以识别即将出现的与恶劣天气、疾病流行或设备召回有关的高风险现象,并提供实时警报以帮助其客户保护自身和财产。Hortonworks 的一家客户提供汽车保险,他们开发了实时警报,可在强暴风将影响特定路段时通知司机,还会建议低风险的替代路线。

借助实证传感器数据来为风险定价

道德风险描述了以下现象:某一人由于知道其他人也会承担风险而自身冒更大的风险。在公司提供汽车保险单时,公司会由于信息不对称而面临道德风险,即:投保人对自身驾车情况的了解要远高于保险商。因为驾驶者知道其保险范围包含碰撞,因此可能会行驶速度略快或者不甚仔细观察道路情况。保险商会设定价格以涵盖这种道德风险,因此最终导致安全驾驶者补贴了这些在路上承担更多风险的驾驶者。基于使用的保险(简称 UBI)通过奖励安全驾驶者的良好行为,从而有可能减少信息不对称性和道德风险。一家大型保险公司依赖 HDP 中存储的保险物联网和远程信息处理传感器数据来运营其 UBI 产品。在此之前,非 Hadoop 处理只能从投保人汽车的传感器中捕获一部分 UBI 数据流,并且提取、转换和加载(简称 ETL)过程导致在数据捕获一周之后数据才可用。通过 HDP,该公司捕获和存储客户选择提供给 UBI 的所有驾驶数据,在一半的时间内处理更大型的数据集,并且通过预测建模来奖励实际上守法的驾驶员,而不是根据他们的年龄、车型、地点和之前的历史记录来猜测。

cta

Get Started

cloud

Ready to Get Started?

Download sandbox

How can we help you?

closeClose button
cta

Connected Data Platforms for
Insurance IOT and Predictive Analytics

cloud Insurance In The Connected World Report

DOWNLOAD The Report

Predictive Analytics for Progressive Insurance

Progressive Insurance is one of the largest U.S. auto insurance companies. The team turned to Hortonworks Data Platform to transform its business with massive ingest of new types of data. Progressive uses HDP® for ad placement and to store driving data for its usage-based insurance products.

Building Data-Centric Businesses with Advanced Analytic Applications

Changes in technology and customer expectations create new challenges for how insurers engage their customers, manage risk information and control the rising frequency and severity of claims. Carriers, like Progressive, are tapping Hortonworks to help rethink traditional models for customer engagement.

Use Cases

Build a 360° View of the Customer

Carriers interact with customers across multiple channels, yet customer interaction, policy and claims data is often isolated in data siloes. Few insurance carriers can accurately correlate acquisition, cross-sell or upsell success with either their marketing campaigns or customer online browsing behavior. Apache Hadoop gives the insurance enterprise a 360° view of customer behavior. It lets them store data longer and identify distinct phases in their customers’ lifecycles. Better analytics helps them more efficiently acquire, grow and retain the best customers.


Boost Agent Productivity with a Unified Agent Portal

Many carriers sell policies through agents. To prepare for sales calls (or to answer questions from prospects during those calls) those agents may need to look up details across multiple, disjointed platforms or applications. This takes time and decreases sales velocity. Unlike legacy data platforms, HDP stores data from many sources in a “data lake”. This permits a single lookup, without requiring multiple individual queries across different unrelated storage platforms. Agents prepare themselves more thoroughly, and they can make more calls over a given time period, helping grow revenue. Insurance companies can also use the same type of single view to understand which agents are most productive selling their products—offering incentives that promote top performers or de-certifying the chronically unproductive.


Create a High-Speed Cache for Processing Application Documents

Once customers agree to buy a new policy, the agent and/or underwriter still needs to process the application documents. This can be a lengthy manual process that causes leakage. Speed is important, but so is accuracy. One Hortonworks subscriber in the insurance industry built an enterprise document cache on HDP. Apache HBase caches the post-transaction documentation, with meta-tags that speed up processing. And because HDP’s YARN-based architecture supports multi-tenant processing on the same data set, document tracking does not slow down risk assessment or other analytics required before initiating coverage. Efficient document processing reduces costs and improves agent and underwriter productivity.


Detect Fraud

Insurance fraud is a major challenge in the industry. According to the FBI, “The total cost of insurance fraud (non-health insurance) is estimated to be more than $40 billion per year. That means Insurance Fraud costs the average U.S. family between $400 and $700 per year in the form of increased premiums.” Because there are more than 7,000 insurance companies that collect more than $1 trillion in premiums every year, criminals have a large, lucrative target. They can easily hide their tracks as they perpetrate schemes like premium diversion, fee churning, asset diversion or workers’ compensation fraud. One of the largest insurers in the United States uses HDP for machine-learning and predictive modeling that employs rules-based flags on streaming data to catch more fraudulent or invalid claims. As claims data flows into the system, real-time alerts help special investigation and claims analysts prioritize their investigations of claims with the highest likelihood of fraud.

Launch Risk-Reduction Services

Insurance companies understand risk and—as in other industries—they are moving from reactive to proactive uses of their data. Any claims adjuster has seen accidents, fires or injuries that could’ve been foreseen and maybe prevented, drawing conclusions like: “He shouldn’t have been out driving in that weather,” or “Those wires were long past their replacement age.” Now insurers are capturing and sharing that insight with their customers before the losses occur. With these risk-reduction and prevention services, carriers share real-time analytics with policyholders, so they can prevent mishaps. For example, they can establish algorithms to identify emerging high-risk phenomena having to do with foul weather, disease epidemics, or equipment recalls—and provide timely alerts that help their customers protect themselves and their property. One Hortonworks customer that offers car insurance is working on real-time alerts that will notify drivers when a strong storm will affect a particular stretch of road and then also suggest less-risky alternate routes.

Price Risk with Empirical Sensor Data

Moral hazard describes the phenomena of one person taking more risk because someone else bares the burden of that risk. When a company offers an auto insurance policy, they face moral hazard because of information asymmetry—policyholders know more about how they actually drive than does the carrier. Drivers may drive a bit faster or watch the road a little less closely because they know that they are covered in the event of a collision. Carriers set prices to cover that moral hazard, and so the safer drivers end up subsidizing those who take more risks on the road. Usage-based insurance (UBI) has the potential to reduce information asymmetry and moral hazard by rewarding safe drivers for their good behavior. A major insurer runs its UBI products with telematic sensor data stored in HDP. Prior non-Hadoop processing captured only a subset of UBI data streaming from sensors in policyholders’ cars and extract-transform-load (ETL) processes delayed availability of that data until the week after capture. With HDP, the company captures and stores all driving data from customers that opt in to UBI, processes the larger dataset in half the time, and uses predictive modeling to reward those drivers for how they actually drive rather than guessing on how they might drive based only on their age, type of car, location and prior history.