通过电子邮件获得 Hortonworks 的最新更新

每月一次,接收最新的洞察力、趋势、分析信息和大数据的知识。

CTA

开始

云

是否已准备就绪?

下载 sandbox

我们能为您做什么?

关闭关闭按钮
CTA

面向医药行业和临床试验
的大数据分析

云 Hortonworks 是领导者。阅读 Forrester Wave。

下载报告

寻找不可访问数据的对策

当您需要的数据隐藏在孤岛中时或者当数十亿美元取决于您无法访问的药物测试数据时会发生什么情况?你如何从长远眼光查看 100 亿条记录以了解生物对药物的反应?制药行业的研究人员求助于 Hortonworks,对集成的翻译数据进行高级的大数据分析并对其药物数据进行整体查看。

挖掘药品数据的潜力

大数据集成、药物大数据分析、内外部协作、产品组合设计支持、更高效的临床试验、更快速地投入市场、提高产量、提高安全性 - 对全球的制药公司来说,这些只是利用其药物大数据的全部潜力所能产生的少部分优势。

使用案例

默克公司提高了疫苗产量:努力制造“黄金批次”

默克公司通过对制造数据进行分析,将“黄金批次”最重要的可预测变量分离出来,从而提高了疫苗产量。长期以来,默克公司的领导层一直依靠精益制造理念来提高产量和降低成本,但是要不断地提高产量,这种方法已经显得越来越力不从心。于是,他们通过 Open Enterprise Hadoop 来寻找新方法,以期进一步降低成本和提高产量。默克公司向 Hortonworks 求助,对一种疫苗过去 10 年的 255 个批次的记录数据进行了挖掘。这些数据分布在 16 个维护和构建管理系统中,并且其中包含有关校准设置、空气压力,以及温度和湿度的精确性传感器数据。通过将所有这些数据集中到 Hortonworks Data Platform 上并运行 150 亿次计算后,Merck 终于找到了过去十年一直在思考的问题的新答案。默克团队可以从数百个变量中分辨出哪些对提高产量有效。该公司进一步将这些经验运用到其他疫苗的生产中去,全心全力地提高药品的质量并最大限度地降低价格。观看 InformationWeek(信息周刊)的 Doug Henschen 对默克公司的 George Llado 的采访。


最大限度降低药品制造流程中的资源浪费

One Hortonworks pharmaceutical customer uses HDP for a single view of its supply chain and their self-declared “War on Waste”. The operations team added up the ingredients going into making their drugs, and compared that with the physical product they shipped. They found a big gap between the two and launched their War on Waste, using HDP big data analytics to identify where those valuable resources were going. Once it identifies those root causes of waste, real-time alerts in HDP notify the team when they are at risk of exceeding pre-determined thresholds.


转化研究:将科学研究变成个体化药品

The goal of Translational Research is to apply the results of laboratory research towards improving human health. Hadoop empowers researchers, clinicians, and analysts to unlock insights from translational data to drive evidence-based medicine programs. The data sources for translational research are complex and typically locked in data siloes, making it difficult for scientists to obtain an integrated, holistic view of their data. Other challenges revolve around data latency (the delay in getting data loaded into traditional data stores), handling unstructured and semi-structured types of data, and bridging lack of collaborative analysis between translation and clinical development groups. Researchers are turning to Open Enterprise Hadoop as a cost-effective, reliable platform for managing big data in clinical trials and performing advanced analytics on integrated translational data. HDP allows translational and clinical groups to combine key data from sources such as: Omics (genomics, proteomics, transcription profiling, etc) Preclinical data Electronic lab notebooks Clinical data warehouses Tissue imaging data Medical devices and sensors File sources (such as Excel and SAS) Medical literature Through Hadoop, analysts can build a holistic view that helps them understand biological response and molecular mechanisms for compounds or drugs. They’re also able to uncover biomarkers for use in R&D and clinical trials. Finally, they can be assured that all data will be stored forever, in its native format, for analysis with multiple future applications.


下一代测序

IT 系统无法经济地存储和处理下一代测序(简称 NGS)数据。例如,主要的测序结构是大尺寸图像格式,长期存储的成本很高。Point 解决方案缺乏灵活性,无法跟上不断变化的分析方法学,并且进行定制和维护的费用很高。Open Enterprise Hadoop 通过帮助数据科学家和研究人员洞察 NGS 数据,同时在可靠、具有成本效益的平台上保留原始数据,从而解决了这些难题。NGS 科学家正在探索 HDP 组件(如 Apache Spark)提供的大规模处理和分析的优点。制药业研究人员使用 Hadoop 来轻松从外部基因数据源(如 TCGA、GENBank 和 EMBL)中提取各种数据类型。使用 HDP 进行 NGS 的另一个明显优势是,研究人员可以使用专为 Hadoop 开发的领先生物信息学工具。这些工具可以分析各种 NGS 数据格式,对读数排序以及合并结果。这通过以下能力将 NGS 提升到新高度:批量处理大型 NGS 数据集,将内部数据与公开提供的外部序列数据进行整合,以图像的原生格式永久性数据存储大型图像文件,大幅节省数据处理和存储的成本。

HDP 使用真实数据来提供真实证据

真实证据 (RWE) 有望量化对健康成果和治疗的改进,但是这种数据必须大规模可用。数据存储和处理的高昂成本、难以合并结构化和非结构化数据以及过度依赖可分析数据的信息资源,这些都影响了 RWE 的发展。借助 Hadoop,RWE 团队正在合并关键数据源(包括索赔、处方、电子病历、HIE 和社交媒体)以全面了解 RWE。通过药物行业的大数据分析,分析师可提供真实洞察力并通过经济高效且熟悉的工具(如 SAS®、R®、TIBCO™ Spotfire® 或 Tableau®)来提供高级分析洞察力。借助 Hadoop 的 RWE,可以实现以下方面的价值:不同患者群组的最佳健康资源利用率,全面了解成本/质量取舍,分析治疗方法,竞争价格研究,合并用药分析,基于疾病的地理和人口发病率的临床试验定位靶标,管道化候选药物的优先级划分,度量基于绩效的定价合同,坚持服药研究,合规性审计的永久数据存储。

在研究之前不间断访问原始数据

利用真实数据来交付真实证据
HDP 真实证据 (RWE) 有望量化对健康成果和治疗的改进,但是这种数据必须大规模可用。数据存储和处理的高昂成本、难以合并结构化和非结构化数据以及过度依赖可分析数据的信息资源,这些都影响了 RWE 的发展。借助 Hadoop,RWE 团队正在合并关键数据源(包括索赔、处方、电子病历、HIE 和社交媒体)以全面了解 RWE。分析可提供真实洞察力并通过经济高效且常见的工具(如 SAS®、R®、TIBCO™ Spotfire® 或 Tableau®)来提供高级分析洞察力。借助 Hadoop 的 RWE,可以实现以下方面的价值:不同患者群组的最佳健康资源利用率,全面了解成本/质量取舍,分析治疗方法,竞争价格研究,合并用药分析,基于疾病的地理和人口发病率的临床试验定位靶标,管道化候选药物的优先级划分,度量基于绩效的定价合同,坚持服药研究,合规性审计的永久数据存储。

Get fresh updates from Hortonworks by email

Once a month, receive latest insights, trends, analytics information and knowledge of Big Data.

cta

Get Started

cloud

Ready to Get Started?

Download sandbox

How can we help you?

closeClose button
cta

Big Data Analytics for the Pharmaceutical Industry
and Clinical Trials

cloud Hortonworks is a leader. Read the Forrester Wave.

Download Report

Finding the cure for inaccessible data

What happens when the data you need is hidden in silos, or when billions of dollars are riding on drug testing data you can’t access? How do you see a long-term view of 10 billion records to understand biological response to drugs? Researchers in the pharmaceutical industry turn to Hortonworks for advanced big data analytics on integrated translational data and to gain a holistic view of their pharmaceutical data.

Unlocking the Power of Pharmaceutical Data

Big Data integration, pharmaceutical big data analytics, internal and external collaboration, portfolio decision support, more efficient clinical trials, faster time to market, improved yields, improved safety - these are just a few of the benefits pharmaceutical companies around the world achieve by tapping into the full power of their pharma big data.

Use Cases

Merck Optimizes Vaccine Yields: Striving for the “Golden Batch”

Merck optimized its vaccine yields by analyzing manufacturing data to isolate the most important predictive variables for a “golden batch”. Merck’s leaders had long relied on Lean manufacturing to grow volumes and reduce costs, but it became increasingly difficult to discover incremental ways to enhance yields. They looked into Open Enterprise Hadoop for new insights that could further reduce costs and improve yields. Merck turned to Hortonworks for data discovery into records on 255 batches of one vaccine going back 10 years. That data had been distributed across 16 maintenance and building management systems and it included precise sensor data on calibrations settings, air pressure, temperature, and humidity. After pooling all the data into Hortonworks Data Platform and processing 15 billion calculations, Merck had new answers to questions it had been asking for a decade. Among hundreds of variables, the Merck team was able to spot those that optimized yields. The company proceeded to apply those lessons to their other vaccines, with a focus on providing quality drugs at the lowest possible price. Watch Doug Henschen’s InformationWeek interview with George Llado of Merck.


Minimizing Waste Across the Drug Manufacturing Process

One Hortonworks pharmaceutical customer uses HDP for a single view of its supply chain and their self-declared “War on Waste”. The operations team added up the ingredients going into making their drugs, and compared that with the physical product they shipped. They found a big gap between the two and launched their War on Waste, using HDP big data analytics to identify where those valuable resources were going. Once it identifies those root causes of waste, real-time alerts in HDP notify the team when they are at risk of exceeding pre-determined thresholds.


Translational Research: Turning Scientific Studies Into Personalized Medicine

The goal of Translational Research is to apply the results of laboratory research towards improving human health. Hadoop empowers researchers, clinicians, and analysts to unlock insights from translational data to drive evidence-based medicine programs. The data sources for translational research are complex and typically locked in data siloes, making it difficult for scientists to obtain an integrated, holistic view of their data. Other challenges revolve around data latency (the delay in getting data loaded into traditional data stores), handling unstructured and semi-structured types of data, and bridging lack of collaborative analysis between translation and clinical development groups. Researchers are turning to Open Enterprise Hadoop as a cost-effective, reliable platform for managing big data in clinical trials and performing advanced analytics on integrated translational data. HDP allows translational and clinical groups to combine key data from sources such as: Omics (genomics, proteomics, transcription profiling, etc) Preclinical data Electronic lab notebooks Clinical data warehouses Tissue imaging data Medical devices and sensors File sources (such as Excel and SAS) Medical literature Through Hadoop, analysts can build a holistic view that helps them understand biological response and molecular mechanisms for compounds or drugs. They’re also able to uncover biomarkers for use in R&D and clinical trials. Finally, they can be assured that all data will be stored forever, in its native format, for analysis with multiple future applications.


Next Generation Sequencing

IT systems cannot economically store and process next generation sequencing (NGS) data. For example, primary sequencing results are in large image format and are too costly to store over the long term. Point solutions have lacked the flexibility to keep up with changing analytical methodologies, and are often expensive to customize and maintain. Open Enterprise Hadoop overcomes those challenges by helping data scientists and researchers unlock insights from NGS data while preserving the raw results on a reliable, cost-effective platform. NGS scientists are discovering the benefits of large-scale processing and analysis delivered by HDP components such as Apache Spark. Pharmaceutical researchers are using Hadoop to easily ingest diverse data types from external sources of genetic data, such as TCGA , GENBank , and EMBL. Another clear advantage of HDP for NGS is that researchers have access to cutting-edge bioinformatics tools built specifically for Hadoop. These enable analysis of various NGS data formats, sorting of reads, and merging of results. This takes NGS to the next level through: Batch processing of large NGS data sets Integration of internal with publically available external sequence data Permanent data storage for large image files, in their native format Substantial cost savings on data processing and storage.

HDP Uses Real-World Data to Deliver Real-World Evidence

Real-World Evidence (RWE) promises to quantify improvements to health outcomes and treatments, but this data must be available at scale. High data storage and processing costs, challenges with merging structured and unstructured data, and an over-reliance on informatics resources for analysis-ready data have all slowed the evolution of RWE. With Hadoop, RWE groups are combining key data sources, including claims, prescriptions, electronic medical records, HIE, and social media, to obtain a full view of RWE. With big data analytics in the pharmaceutical industry, analysts are unlocking real insights and delivering advanced insights via cost-effective and familiar tools such as SAS® ,R®, TIBCO™ Spotfire®, or Tableau®. RWE through Hadoop delivers value with optimal health resource utilization across different patient cohorts, a holistic view of cost/quality tradeoffs, analysis of treatment pathways, competitive pricing studies, concomitant medication analysis, clinical trial targeting based on geographic & demographic prevalence of disease, prioritization of pipelined drug candidates, metrics for performance-based pricing contracts, drug adherence studies, and permanent data storage for compliance audits.

Perpetual Access to Raw Data from Prior Research

HDP Uses Real-World Data to Deliver Real-World Evidence
Real-World Evidence (RWE) promises to quantify improvements to health outcomes and treatments, but this data must be available at scale. High data storage and processing costs, challenges with merging structured and unstructured data, and an over-reliance on informatics resources for analysis-ready data have all slowed the evolution of RWE. With Hadoop, RWE groups are combining key data sources, including claims, prescriptions, electronic medical records, HIE, and social media, to obtain a full view of RWE. Analysts are unlocking real insights and delivering advanced analytic insights via cost-effective and familiar tools such as SAS:registered: ,R:registered:, TIBCO:tm: Spotfire:registered:, or Tableau:registered:. RWE through Hadoop delivers value with optimal health resource utilization across different patient cohorts, a holistic view of cost/quality tradeoffs, analysis of treatment pathways, competitive pricing studies, concomitant medication analysis, clinical trial targeting based on geographic & demographic prevalence of disease, prioritization of pipelined drug candidates, metrics for performance-based pricing contracts, drug adherence studies, and permanent data storage for compliance audits.