cta

Démarrer

cloud

Prêt à débuter ?

Télécharger Sandbox

Que pouvons-nous faire pour vous ?

fermerBouton Fermer
cta

Big Data Business Intelligence and Analytics
for the Public Sector and Government

cloud Prêt à débuter ?

Télécharger Sandbox

Arizona State University utilise HDP®
pour découvrir des informations précieuses

Arizona State University (ASU) est la plus grande université américaine et a été désignée l'« université la plus innovante des États-Unis » en 2016 par le magazine U.S. News & World Report. L'initiative Complex Adaptive Systems Initiative (ou CASI) d'ASU a créé un data lake sur le génome grâce à des pétaoctets de données génétiques sur des centaines d'individus. Des études ont pu ainsi être menées sur la façon dont chaque variante individuelle du génome peut influencer l'expression d'un gène du cancer. Ces découvertes précieuses pourraient aider à élaborer de nouveaux traitements.

Le secteur public bénéficie de la puissance des données

Public sector organizations are challenged with extracting actionable intelligence from data in various formats from many different sources. And with their resource and budget constraints, it’s an even greater challenge. With the Hortonworks Connected Data Platform, our customers can turn all their data to competitive advantage at an affordable price.

exemples d'utilisation

Utilisez des données issues de machines et de capteurs pour maintenir en amont l'infrastructure publique en conditions opérationnelles

Metro Transit of St. Louis (MTL) gère le réseau de transports en commun pour la région métropolitaine de Saint-Louis. Hortonworks Data Platform aide MTL à remplir sa mission en stockant et en analysant les données IoT des autobus intelligents de la ville. L'organisme a ainsi pu réduire le coût moyen par mile parcouru par ses autobus de 0,92 $ à 0,43 $. MTL a atteint cette réduction des coûts tout en doublant le nombre de miles parcourus annuellement par bus. Hortonworks a livré la solution à MTL en partenariat avec LHP Telematics, chef de file de l'industrie créant des solutions télématiques personnalisées pour les véhicules connectés et le marché OEM des équipements lourds, du transport, des services et de la construction de flottes. La solution combinée rend le service de bus MTL plus fiable, tout en multipliant par 5 la moyenne de la durée de bon fonctionnement des bus. Celle-ci est passée de 4 000 à 21 000 miles parcourus.


Comprenez l'opinion publique sur les performances du gouvernement

Un ministère fédéral d’un pays européen voulait mieux comprendre l’opinion de ces administrés quant à une initiative majeure destinée à réduire le taux d'obésité. Un retour d'information par contact direct aurait pu en l'occurrence être efficace pour obtenir quelques résultats de bonne qualité auprès d'un petit nombre de citoyens ou d'enfants scolarisés, mais la persistance et la portée de ces méthodes n'étaient pas suffisantes. Le ministère a donc commencé l'analyse des publications sur les médias sociaux liées à son programme de réduction de l'obésité. Chaque jour, une équipe utilise HDP pour analyser les tweets, les publications et les sessions de chat afin de créer des rapports sur le sentiment quotidien pour les membres du parlement souhaitant savoir rapidement quelles politiques sont efficaces et lesquelles ne le sont pas.


Protégez les réseaux stratégiques contre les menaces (internes et externes)

Les grands réseaux informatiques génèrent des fichiers journaux de serveur contenant des données sur les entités qui accèdent au réseau et les actions qu'elles effectuent. Les données des fichiers journaux de serveur sont généralement considérées comme des données agglomérées, caractérisées par le dilemme de « l’aiguille dans une botte de foin » : presque tous les fichiers journaux de serveur n'ont aucune valeur, mais certains d’entre eux contiennent des informations essentielles pour la défense nationale. Le défi est d'identifier les risques réels parmi le bruit ambiant avant qu'une perte d'informations classifiées se produise. Désormais, les intrus planifient des campagnes stratégiques sur le long terme, aussi appelées menaces avancées persistantes. Les intervenants internes comme Edward Snowden ou les pirates externes attaquant des gouvernements étrangers réalisent des campagnes d'intrusion sophistiquées s’étendant sur plusieurs années. La puissance de traitement de Hadoop facilite grandement la détection des « aiguilles » laissées par ces intrus dans les différents amas de données. Cette approche généralisée est décrite dans un article publié par Lockheed Martin intitulé « Défense des réseaux informatiques basée sur les renseignements grâce à l’analyse des campagnes hostiles et des Kill Chain d’intrusion » : les techniques de défense des réseaux qui exploitent des renseignements sur les attaques peuvent créer une boucle de remontée des informations, permettant aux défenseurs d'établir un état de la supériorité des informations susceptibles de réduire les chances de succès du piratage à chaque nouvelle tentative d'intrusion. Apache Hadoop peut fournir cette supériorité des informations pour vous protéger contre les campagnes lancées par des utilisateurs malveillants.


Prévenez la fraude et le gaspillage

Une agence fédérale dotée d'un grand nombre de bénéficiaires s'est tourné vers Apache Hadoop et Hortonworks Data Platform pour détecter les demandes frauduleuses de prestations. Cette implémentation a réduit le processus d’extraction, de transformation et de chargement (ETL). Sa durée est passée de 9 heures à 1 heure. L'agence a ainsi pu créer de nouveaux modèles de données relatifs à la fraude, au gaspillage et aux abus. Après avoir accéléré le processus ETL, l'agence a utilisé cette avancée pour tripler la quantité de données incluses dans son traitement quotidien. Hadoop étant un système basé sur une plateforme de « schéma à la lecture », au lieu de la traditionnelle plateforme de « schéma au chargement », l'agence envisage désormais d'examiner dans son analyse d'autres systèmes hérités et d'y inclure en amont plus de données contextuelles (telles que celles des médias sociaux et du contenu en ligne). Au bout du compte, il sera plus facile d’identifier et d'empêcher la fraude, le gaspillage et les abus.

Analysez les médias sociaux pour identifier les menaces terroristes

Les réseaux terroristes parviennent à passer entre les mailles du filet en organisant leurs communications sur des réseaux informels et diffus. Pourtant, la nature de ces réseaux sociaux contient des informations qui peuvent être utilisées pour détecter et contrecarrer les activités malveillantes. Grâce à l'analyse des réseaux sociaux sur d'énormes ensembles de données, les agences du renseignement qui identifient un individu malveillant peuvent trouver des complices dans les six degrés de séparation du malfaiteur. Apache Hadoop apporte de l'efficacité à cette analyse. Bien sûr, toutes les personnes en contact avec un terroriste ne sont pas des complices. En fait, la plupart ne sont pas impliquées dans des actes répréhensibles. Il s'agit ici donc d'un autre problème d'aiguille dans une botte de foin. Hadoop peut stocker des données structurées et non structurées sur les individus, leurs actions et la façon dont ils communiquent. L'analyse de ces données sociales donne aux agences des renseignements exploitables qui leur permettent d'exclure les personnes innocentes et de se concentrer uniquement sur ceux ayant l'intention de causer du tort.

Réduisez les pressions budgétaires en vous délestant des charges de travail SQL coûteuses

Lors du récent blocage des financements au sein du gouvernement fédéral des États-Unis, les budgets informatiques ont fait l'objet d'un examen plus minutieux et de pressions importantes. De nombreux organismes se sont tournés vers une grande société d'experts-conseils qui a recommandé Hortonworks Data Platform pour le déchargement de certains ensembles de données vers Hadoop. Cette recommandation a été fondée sur une bonne pratique qui consiste à mettre chaque charge de travail de données dans l’emplacement le plus approprié. HDP interagit avec toutes les grandes plateformes d'entreposage de données relationnelles utilisées par les organismes fédéraux. D'un point de vue économique, il n'est pas logique de stocker certains types de données dans ces plateformes. Par conséquent, le transfert d'ensembles de données moins structurées vers Hadoop a réduit les dépenses sans interrompre les données ou les opérations existantes. Désormais, ces mêmes données sont accessibles comme auparavant, mais elles sont stockées à moindre coût.

Études de cas de clients

Université d'État de l'Arizona
client
Université d'État de l'Arizona

L'Université d'État de l'Arizona (ASU) est la plus grande université des États-Unis en matière d'effectif. Elle accueille plus de 83 000 étudiants et emploie plus de 3 300 professeurs. Sa charte, approuvée par le conseil d'administration en 2014, est fondée sur le modèle  « New American University »  créé par le président de l'ASU, Michael M. Crow. Ce modèle définit l'ASU comme une université « complète...

UNOS
client
UNOS

The United Network for Organ Sharing (UNOS) is the private, non-profit organization managing the United States organ transplant system. UNOS brings together hundreds of hospitals, transplant centers, organ procurement professionals, and thousands of volunteers. The mission of UNOS is to advance organ availability and transplantation by uniting and supporting communities for the benefit of patients…

MITRE transforme le transport aérien
client
MITRE transforme le transport aérien

MITRE est une organisation à but non lucratif qui gère plusieurs centres de recherche et de développement financés par le gouvernement fédéral (FFRDC). Le CAASD (Centre de développement de systèmes d'aviation avancés) est l'un de ces FFRDC. Il sert l'intérêt public en améliorant la sûreté, la sécurité et l'efficacité de l'aéronautique aux États-Unis et à travers le monde. Transformation du…

Metro Transit of Saint Louis
client
Metro Transit of Saint Louis

Metro Transit of St. Louis (MTL) gère le réseau de transports en commun pour la région métropolitaine de Saint-Louis. L'objectif de l'organisation est de « répondre aux besoins de la région en matière de transport, en offrant un service sûr, fiable, accessible et orienté-usager, tout en étant financièrement responsable. »  Relever le défi d'offrir un transport public sûr et fiable afin d'assurer la sécurité des passagers et des...

UC Irvine Health
client
UC Irvine Health

Le centre hospitalier UC Irvine Health s'est tourné vers Hadoop et Hortonworks Data Platform pour améliorer le fonctionnement clinique de son hôpital et ses recherches scientifiques dans sa faculté de médecine. Ses équipes ont pu développer une pratique médicale rationalisée qui réduit les réadmissions, accélère les nouveaux projets de recherche et suit en direct les données médicales des patients. Une plateforme Hadoop pour deux...

cta

Get Started

cloud

Ready to Get Started?

Download sandbox

How can we help you?

closeClose button
cta

Connected Data Platforms for the Government and Public Sector

cloud Ready to Get Started?

Download Sandbox

Arizona State University uses HDP® to Unlock Insights

Arizona State University (ASU) is the largest university in the U.S. and was named by U.S. News & World Report as the “Most Innovative School in America” in 2016. ASU’s Complex Adaptive Systems Initiative (or CASI) built a genomic data lake with petabytes of genetic data on hundreds of individuals, powering research on how each individual variant in the genome can influence the expression of a cancer gene, thereby unlocking insight into potentially life-saving treatments.

Public Sector Benefits from the Power of Data

Public sector organizations are challenged with extracting actionable intelligence from data in various formats from many different sources. And with their resource and budget constraints, it’s an even greater challenge. With the Hortonworks Connected Data Platform, our customers can turn all their data to competitive advantage at an affordable price.

Use Cases

Use Machine and Sensor Data to Proactively Maintain Public Infrastructure

Metro Transit of St. Louis (MTL) operates the public transportation system for the St. Louis metropolitan region. Hortonworks Data Platform helps MTL meet their mission by storing and analyzing IoT data from the city’s Smart Buses, which helped the agency cut average cost per mile driven by its buses from $0.92 to $0.43. It achieved that cost reduction while simultaneously doubling the annual miles driven per bus. Hortonworks delivered the MTL solution in partnership with LHP Telematics, an industry leader in creating custom telematics solutions for connected vehicles in the heavy equipment OEM marketplace, transportation, service, and construction fleets. The combined solution is making MTL bus service more reliable–improving the Mean Time Between Failures (MTBF) for metro buses by a factor of five, from four thousand to twenty-one thousand miles.


Understand Public Sentiment About Government Performance

One federal ministry in a European country wanted to better understand the views of its constituents related to a major initiative to reduce obesity. Direct outreach for feedback might have been effective for a few high-quality interactions with a small number of citizens or school age children, but those methods lacked both reach and persistence. So the Ministry started analyzing social media posts related to its program to reduce obesity. Every day, a team uses HDP to analyze tweets, posts and chat sessions and give daily sentiment reports to members of parliament for rapid feedback on which polices work and which flop.


Protect Critical Networks from Threats (Both Internal and External)

Large IT networks generate server logs with data on who accesses the network and the actions that they take. Server log data is typically seen as exhaust data, characterized by a “needle-in-a-haystack” dilemma: almost all server logs have no value, but some logs contain information critical to national defense. The challenge is to identify actual risks amongst the noise, before they lead to loss of classified information. Now intruders plan long-term, strategic campaigns referred to as “Advanced Persistent Threats” (APTs). Both internal actors like Edward Snowden or external attackers in foreign governments conduct sophisticated, multi-year intrusion campaigns. Hadoop’s processing power makes it easier to find the “needles” left by these intruders across the different data “haystacks”. This generalized approach is described in a paper published by Lockheed Martin entitled “Intelligence-Driven Computer Network Defense Informed by Analysis of Adversary Campaigns and Intrusion Kill Chains”: Network defense techniques which leverage knowledge about these adversaries can create an intelligence feedback loop, enabling defenders to establish a state of information superiority which decreases the adversary’s likelihood of success with each subsequent intrusion attempt. Apache Hadoop can provide that information superiority to protect against sustained campaigns by malicious users.


Prevent Fraud and Waste

One federal agency with a large pool of beneficiaries turned to Apache Hadoop and the Hortonworks Data Platform to discover fraudulent claims for benefits. The implementation reduced ETL processing from 9 hours to 1 hour, which allowed them to create new data models around fraud, waste and abuse. After speeding the ETL process, the agency used that efficiency to triple the data included in its daily processing. Because Hadoop is a “schema on read” system, rather than the traditional “schema on load” platform, the agency now plans to search additional legacy systems and include more upstream contextual data (such as social media and online content) in its analysis. All of this will make it easier to identify and stop fraud, waste and abuse.

Analyze Social Media to Identify Terrorist Threats

Terrorist networks attempt to avoid detection by organizing and communicating across diffuse, informal networks. Yet the nature of these social networks contains information that can be used to detect and thwart malicious activity. With social network analysis over huge sets of data, intelligence agencies who identify one malicious individual can find accomplices within six degrees of separation from the known bad guy. Apache Hadoop makes this analysis efficient. Of course, not everyone in contact with a known terrorist is complicit. In fact, most are uninvolved in any wrongdoing. This is another needle-in-a-haystack problem. Hadoop can store structured and unstructured data on individuals, their actions and the way they communicate. Analysis on that social data gives agencies actionable intelligence enabling them to leave innocents alone and focus on those intending harm.

Decrease Budget Pressures by Offloading Expensive SQL Workloads

During the recent sequestration standoff within the United States federal government, IT budgets came under increased scrutiny and budgetary pressure. Many agencies turned to a major consulting firm that recommended Hortonworks Data Platform for offloading certain data sets to Hadoop. This recommendation was based on the best practice of putting each and every data workload in the most appropriate place. HDP interoperates with all of the major relational data warehouse platforms used by federal agencies. It doesn’t make economic sense to store certain types of data in those platforms, so transitioning less structured data sets to Hadoop reduced expenses without disrupting any existing data or operations. Now the same data is accessible as before but stored at a lower cost.

Customer Case Studies

Arizona State University
customer
Arizona State University

Arizona State University (ASU) is the largest public university by enrollment in the United States, with more than 83,000 students and 3,300 faculty members. ASU's charter, approved by the board of regents in 2014, is based on the "New American University" model created by ASU President Michael M. Crow. It defines ASU as "a comprehensive…

UNOS
customer
UNOS

The United Network for Organ Sharing (UNOS) is the private, non-profit organization managing the United States organ transplant system. UNOS brings together hundreds of hospitals, transplant centers, organ procurement professionals, and thousands of volunteers. The mission of UNOS is to advance organ availability and transplantation by uniting and supporting communities for the benefit of patients…

The MITRE Corporation Transforms Aviation
customer
The MITRE Corporation Transforms Aviation

The MITRE Corporation® is a not-for-profit company that operates multiple federally funded research and development centers (FFRDCs). One of these FFRDCs is the Center for Advanced Aviation System Development (CAASD), which serves the public interest by advancing the safety, security, effectiveness, and efficiency of aerospace in the United States and around the world. Transforming the National…

Metro Transit of St. Louis
customer
Metro Transit of St. Louis

Metro Transit of St. Louis (MTL) operates the public transportation system for the St. Louis metropolitan region. The organization’s mission is “Meeting the region’s transit needs by providing safe, reliable, accessible, customer-focused service in a fiscally responsible manner.” Meeting the Challenge to Provide Safe, Reliable Public Transport To ensure the safety of passengers and the…

UC Irvine Health
customer
UC Irvine Health

UC Irvine Health turned to Hadoop and Hortonworks Data Platform to improve clinical operations in the hospital and its scientific research at the medical school. Their team is building a quantified medical practice that reduces readmissions, speeds new research projects, and tracks patient vital stats on a minute-by-minute basis. One Hadoop Platform for Two Different…